jump to navigation

%$#@!!*%$ stink bugs. May 3, 2008

Posted by ourfriendben in critters, homesteading.
Tags: ,
trackback

Silence Dogood here. Spring has sprung in our little corner of Pennsylvania. And that means the robins have come up from the South, the bulbs have peeked out of the ground, and the stink bugs have come out of the woodwork.

Here at Hawk’s Haven, we are reluctant hosts of the wonderfully-named brown marmorated stink bug. (And if anybody knows what “marmorated” means, please let us know.) But its name is the only thing that’s wonderful about it. Apparently, this stink bug is an agricultural pest in its native area of China, Japan, Korea, and Taiwan, where it causes disfiguring catfacing—sunken brown streaking—on fruits like apples and other produce. But I can’t frankly say if it’s become a fruit-grower’s nightmare since its accidental importation into the U.S., because I’ve never actually seen a stink bug outdoors. (Have you?) Instead, they’ve become a terror to homeowners everywhere, popping up out of nowhere and dive-bombing normally sweet-natured souls like yours truly.

Here’s how it works: You’re in the kitchen cooking, at the computer typing, on the sofa reading, or—the ultimate horror—in bed sleeping. Meanwhile, a thumbnail-sized, brown, shield-shaped stink bug is lurking inconspicuously on the wall near the ceiling, on a door or windowframe, or on a curtain. Suddenly, like Evel Knievel leaping the Snake River Canyon on his motorcycle, the stink bug explodes from its resting place with a roar, blasting across the intervening space to crash-land onto the kitchen counter, the computer, your shirt, or the pillow about a millimeter from your face. AAAAAHHHHHHHHH!!!!! You’ve either been concentrating on what you were doing or sleeping. You haven’t been contemplating the daredevil attack of the stink bug. You are now on the seventh of your nine lives. Another test of your cardiac fitness.

As if all this has not shredded your last nerve, you now have to endure the ridicule which someone who shall remain nameless (are you reading this, Ben?!) inevitably heaps on you for the screaming which accompanied the stink bug attack. Within seconds, the sound of “Whoo! Whoo!” rings out from some recess of the house, followed by derisive laughter. Before you can even retrieve the paring knife to follow this hooting back to its source, the stink bug, having recovered from the shock of impact, blasts off again.

AAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!! “Whoo! Whoo!” Grrrr.

Why are they called stink bugs? Apparently, they have glands that emit some kind of stench if you squash them (eeewww) or vaccuum enough of them up (eeeeewwwww!!!!!!). We wouldn’t know. We just leave them lurking, or in their other favorite posture, upside-down dead on the floor. (Actually, at that point, we do toss them. But the dead bugs don’t stink.)

Stink bugs won’t hurt your house. They won’t hurt your pets (all of whom studiously ignore them). They won’t even hurt you. But boy, will they hurt your pride! RRRRRRrrrrrrrrRRRRRRrrrrrrrBOOM! AAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHH!!! “Whoo! Whoo!” Grrrr. *&%$#@!!!! stink bugs!    

                        ‘Til next time,

                                 Silence  

 

Comments»

1. James Golden - May 3, 2008

The dead ones DO STINK. Just try picking up one and handling it roughly without 14 layers of paper towel between your fingers and the corpse. It stinks and the stink won’t wash off without lots of scrubbing. Even if it does, you will continue to smell it as you compulsively return your fingers to your nose to check for that disturbing odor.

Perhaps only the recent dead smell, but I’m reluctant to do the necessary research.

Eeeewwww!!! What a horrid thought, James! I don’t know if ours don’t smell because they’ve usually dried out by the time we find them, or if it’s because I’m usually holding the carcass gingerly by one leg. So tell us, what do they smell like?! Let’s just say we’d rather hear about it at second hand!

2. ceecee - May 3, 2008

Bwaaahhaaaaa! Bad Ben, bad! You might find a stinkbug in your next bowl of soup if you aren’t careful.

I’ve always wondered what bugs must think of giants like us having a fit over their tiny bodies. When I moved to Houston years ago, I encountered Palmetto Bugs, which is just code for Giant (3 inches), flying cockroach. I was terrified of them and screaming would always be followed by “HOoonnney, pleeeasssee come kill this cockroach!!” It’s the man’s job to kill the bugs, by golly.

There came a day when I found one flying across the room and hubby was out of town. I had no bug spray in the house (in Houston, what was wrong with me?) and I knew the first thing I needed to do was cut out it’s ability to fly away from me. Hairspray!! Thank goodness for the big hair of the 80’s. I chased the darn thing all over the house, knocked it down with hairspray and then promptly squashed it. Such a lovely sound, huge bug crunched under shoe. My fear was conquered. Where I live now, scorpions are the bugs of scorn. They also make a lovely sound when crunched. No screaming either. ;) Well maybe from the scorpion.

Ha!!!!!!!!! Eeeewww, a stomped scorpion. But I think I’d rather battle scorpions than giant roaches!

3. Barbee' - May 3, 2008

Oh, me, what yuk. I have smelled stink bugs, because as a child I played with bugs, toads, whatever came along. “Interesting” odor, not as bad as skunk, but almost. Unforgettable if you ever do smell it. I have seen them out of doors here in the garden. Mostly on my tomatoes (the fruit not the plant), where they suck the juice out of the tomatoes and leave a dry, white-ish blotch that has to be cut out before eating it.

Mercy! We just tossed another (live) one out the door about three minutes ago. I did read that they attacked veggies as well as fruits, but they seem to have vanished by harvest time around here. Strange how some bugs have a characteristic smell, like the unforgettable musty smell of lightning bugs/fireflies. I’ve always loved toads, too, and used to keep them as pets when I was a child.

4. deb - May 3, 2008

Oh Silence, I am sorry, but that is funny. One of our Manx cats decided to eat a stink bug one time. They must taste bad as well as smell bad. You should have seen here trying to get the taste out of her mouth. Very funny.

Ha! Yes, I can just picture that. They get such a funny look on their faces when they’ve eaten something bad, then keep shaking their heads and wiping their mouths with their paws. You can’t help but feel sorry for the poor little things even as you’re rolling on the floor because they look so hysterical!

5. Cinj - May 5, 2008

So, does that naughty Ben let the bugs into the house on purpose just for the show? It sure sounds like something Cheesehead might try. I don’t bother bugs in my home either although I have been known to sweep the ones that crawl on the ground into a dustpan and promptly run them outside.

Ha!!! Wretched Ben. And wretched bugs! Another stink bug flew onto my tee-shirt tonight, and of course a mighty shrieking ensued. Fortunately, i was on the way outside, so I just went out stink bug and all and then knocked it off. Yuck!

6. Melanie - May 5, 2008

hahahahahahaha, ok, that was worth it. I don’t mind bugs if they wear a little bell around their neck and let you know where they are. In fact, I’d like snakes, mice and all other little creatures too if only they’d remember to wear those bells.

Good plan. I just wish they’d stay a) outside and b) off me!

7. Bonnie - July 22, 2008

Yay, they’ve stayed well out of my house (perhaps because we stay tightly closed up for the protection of allergy sufferers in the household). Boo hoo, they’re molesting my tomatoes. It’s awful what they’re doing to my beautiful tomato plants. Gonna try collecting them in pill bottles for disposal.

Yikes, that’s awful, Bonnie! Your poor tomatoes!

8. Nancy - January 30, 2009

So what are the symptoms of being allergic to stink bugs?
I pick at least three a day off the windows and flush them
down the toilet.

Ever since they started coming into my house, about two
years ago, I’ve suffered from strange itchiness, dry and
inflamed skin.

Hmmm, I don’t know, Nancy, but unless something else has changed in your diet or home environment, I’d say that’s unlikely to be a coincidence!

9. Amy - January 31, 2009

Before last summer, I didn’t know what this bug was, and now… I can’t believe how prevalent they’ve become, both indoors and out of doors. At least the much-hated Japanese beetle is cyclical; unfortunately, these disgusting, invasive, smelly, f#@king pests are 12 months out of the year. Our cats won’t get near them, including our bug-eating little feline girl. Forget the exterminators; they will certainly charge for a treatment, but it won’t work; all that will happen is the exterminator makes money and you’ve spread poison all over the place. It seems nothing will get rid of them… if I sound hopeless, it’s because I am. And frustrated. And grossed out. Seeing one in the kitchen is a quick way of losing one’s appetite. One thing I’ve learned: if you’re going to kill them (and I do at every opportunity– I literally hunt them down, I hate them so much), try not to squash them, at least not entirely. I tap on them with my foot, just hard enough to hear a satisfying crunch letting me know I killed it, but not too hard to release that foul substance from its grotesque body. One of many concerns I have, though, is whether or not there is an allergic reaction to be had from them, affecting both humans and pets. I can’t find a definitive answer to this question yet, but I’m guessing that the bigger this problem- infestation, really- gets, the more information will become available. Oh, Lord, if it’s not one thing, it’s another…

Sigh. We feel your pain, Amy! A live one turned up on our kitchen floor just this morning (shortly after one of our cats knocked over our kitchen table, sending everything crashing to the floor, including two Christmas cacti, in one of which it was doubtless lurking). I don’t know the answer to the allergy question, but I’ll bet I know who would: the entomologists in your state college’s entomology department. They might even be able to refer you to a national stinkbug authority. If you find out anything, please report back!

10. catlover - April 15, 2009

Can a stink bug cause days of sneezing in a cat who got a bit too close for comfort? If so, is this worth a vet visit? will the sneezing subside? Do you think it bit her nose and released some toxin in her skin? Hmmm. sneezing cat…days of sneezing…very concerned!

Yikes, catlover! We have plenty of stinkbugs, and our cats have never started sneezing, but our cats tend to leave the stinkbugs alone. I haven’t actually heard of a stinkbug biting anything, either (but that doesn’t mean they don’t.) Whether your cat has a stinkbug allergy or, and this could be more likely, has something caught in his or her nasal passage, if I were you I’d get him or her to the vet right away! Good luck to both of you!

11. Shari - May 9, 2009

I too, am horrified by stink bugs! (I love Amy’s descriptions in her Jan. 31, 2009 post . . . “its grotesque body”. . well said.) My family recently relocated to Eastern PA from the San Francisco Bay Area in CA (crazy, huh?) which now I realize was virtually bug free by comparison. I have done extensive homework on these disgusting, invasive creatures and found that they originated in Asia/Japan where they were found to be an Agricultural threat. In addition, I learned they have no known predators. I’ve seen them locally at a ‘pick your own’ farm, dozens of them clustered together sucking the life out of the fruits & veggies. So it seems to me they would also be considered an AGRICULTURAL THREAT HERE as well. The only thing I’ve found on the PA Dept. of Agriculture’s Website regarding the Stink Bug Infestation was that “They are studying the matter”. O.K. I know some thinks take time, but California found a solution to the brown apple moth within a year. Pennsylvania has had this escalating stink bug problem since 1998??? What’s up with that? Doesn’t PA grow anything here that needs protecting??? Should we be writing letters, signing petitions, stink bug protest marching at the State’s Capitol? PA is P.U. HELP!!!

P.U. Ha!!!! Great comment, Shari, and I don’t know what we can do to raise stink bug awareness. I’ve been capturing them in pieces of paper towel and hurling them out the deck door multiple times a day for months now. The worst is when you think everything’s okay, and then you see one lurking, waving its front legs at you in that “Aha! NOW I’m gonna get you!!!” gesture. YIKES!!!!

12. Ren - September 24, 2009

I work in a lab in Virginia and we’ve been experiencing an infestation recently, and I was wondering if I was allergic to the juices excreted by the stink bug upon smooshing. I typed in “allergies + stink bug” to the google search engine and this blog popped up… obviously, we chose to read a blog vs. a wikipedia article and were rewarded for our efforts with this hilarious stink bug commentary. thank you, we are legitimately ROTFL.

xoxo,
Virginia Affective Neuroscience Lab Members

Thank you all, Ren! You’ve made my day!!!

13. KC - November 17, 2009

Let me say Thank You for making me laugh so hard over something that has been plaguing my life for the last 6 weeks! I too just googled “stink bug allergies” and this blog came up. I too have a cat that hates them, and have experienced the dive bombing! I have had major allergy symptoms since they emerged in our house, especially an increase in asthma. I hate to admit but I am not generous to these little monsters, I have no qualms about flushing them away. We had our house exterminated this weekend and we spring cleaned, wiping every surface i could reach. Last night I slept better than I have in a month, and today I woke up without my usual wave of sneezes and coughing! so YES, you can be allergic to them!
Thanks for the laughs!

Glad it cheered you up, KC, and glad you’ve gotten some relief from the little monsters!

14. Kathy - April 22, 2010

I was minding my own business, playing a game on my cell phone to help me fall asleep, when I noticed an odd pain in the crook of my elbow. I ignored it for a few minutes, and then took a look – stink bug! Its been a week now and I have two ulcerations and a swollen area about two inches wide on my arm. Stink bugs are no longer cute and cuddly.

That’s just horrible, Kathy! I had no idea that they could actually bite, much less inflict such a serious injury. Ouch! I’m so sorry!

15. Tiffany - May 12, 2010

Is there any research being conducted as to whether they are producing allergies/rashes/itching in humans? Are they toxic to wild pests like birds and bats? I have noticed that since the BMSB invaded my home I have been ill. Every spring since.
Coincidently I also found dead bats and birds in my drain spout. I have had a terrible rash/crawling/hives/biting, chest pains, itchy eyes and nose, ect since then. Immunity issues, thyroid problems, sinitisis… I’m a mess in desperate search for answers. I feel like I am living a nightmare.
My theory is that bmsb are killing birds/rodents and then the bird mites and or mouse mites are findind a new host within my home, which is me. Lucky me. My daughter, however, has not experienced the itching as bad as I just randomly. This is consistant with mites- they choose one host. At this point I have been called a hypochondriac and I am starting to feel that way.
Any help would be so appreciated.

That’s terrible, Tiffany! Not being an entomologist, I’m afraid I can’t help you. You should call your local Agricultural Extension Service and/or the Entomology Department of your land grant college (usually the state university) and ask them. If you’re finding dead bats and birds around the property, you should definitely call the Extension Service and report it. I wouldn’t think it had any relationship to the stink bugs, but there’s clearly something bad going on. Good luck!!!

16. srrsss - May 24, 2010

I am wondernig if there is also a connection with stink bugs and allergy or food intolerance…I moved into a house where we are having stink bug problems and started to wonder if my increasing intolerances to almost every fruit, vegetable and nut is actually something to do with stink bugs. I have never had any allergies before and this is just too strange and coincidental. Live in MD.

Mercy, that’s just awful! It sounds like calling in the exterminator, then wiping down the kitchen and doing a thorough spring cleaning helped an earlier reader. But if I were you I’d call in a professional mold assessor first to check the house itself and make sure there’s not hidden mold or some other irritant that’s causing your allergies, since they started up right after you moved. Whatever you do, good luck!

17. Deborah Sue Pomeroy Reckmeyer - September 22, 2010

Try taking a bite of homemade soup to bite into one of those nasty critters. You think they stink… try tasting them after you feel the crunch between your teeth! All pots are now covered in our house!

I too am concerned about the toxicity of these bugs. They have only been around here since 2001. I can’t find any information on how the asians dealt with the bugs. I have noticed that the children when its hot in the spring or fall and there are tons of stink bugs around, everyone is on a short temper complaining about this or that. I think there is something there that needs to be researched and looked into.

Oh, mercy, Deborah Sue! The horror of biting into a stink bug! Excellent advice about covering all pots. Thanks! And I agree that more research on causes, effects, and controls is desperately needed!

18. srrsss - September 23, 2010

Yuk..these things are all over again..our house is only one year old so no mold or mildew..anything like that..found out that putting portable hepa filters in common rooms and one in the furnace helps alot with allergy problems…found out I am very allergic to dogs but still wonder about these stink bugs?

Thanks for the hepa tip, srrsss!!! Let’s hope it helps some of the other allergy sufferers out there this stinkbug season. Sounds like you need a hypoallergenic dog breed like a poodle. Anyway, good luck with the greeblies!

19. suzanne Omelia - September 24, 2010

Stink bugs stink when you have an infestation of them covering your house so badly that you can’t open doors and they are crawling down the fireplace. They have a sweet smell that isn’t horrible in small doses but becomes unbearable when you are immersed in them!
I used to be nice and pick them up and throw them gently out my door, I even found them a little comical in their prehistoric shells, but not any more. I think I’m allergic to them at the least and psychotically obsessed with killing them at worst.
I have lived in MD for the last 30 years, never had allergies and suddenly I am sneezing and itching like I have allergies. I know I don’t have mold I have never had hay fever.

Yow, now I’m VERY afraid, Suzanne! I’ve never smelled one, but we have plenty right now, and I’m certainly not looking forward to smelling anything like you’re describing!!! Good luck with the evil beasties.

20. Dr. Ishmael - December 4, 2010

I am an allergist studying whether stinkbugs can cause allergies. If anyone has noticed sinus, nose, lung, or skin symptoms, please let me know.

Denise D Cordes - February 27, 2011

Yesterday, I out on the jacket to my work-out set and drove off to the gym. My arms, back and hands began to itch and tingle (my face was tingling too) and it was actually painful. So much so that I had to drive to the drug store and buy an anti-itch spray. I did not take off my jacket, only rolled up the sleeves and sprayed and sprayed. i got enough relief to do my 60 minute walk. Came home, took off the jacket and one flew out of the sleeve. My poor dog has been pulling our her hair and scratching at her vulva area (she sits on them) and the vet said give her benadryl. It is a nightmare and we are infested.

21. Kathleen - December 5, 2010

As a matter of fact I get very bad asthma from stink bugs. After much investigation we figured this out two years ago after we had an infestation. My asthma was never severe, but suddenly I has using the emergency inhaler several times a day. We now get the house sprayed for them 2 times a year. When we get the odd one in the house or office we vaccuum then and I have my husband empty the vacuum outside. It’s a real exercise to not panic at the sight of one, but I guess I have to set an example for my kids :-)

Dr. Ishmael - December 8, 2010

We are suspicious that you are not alone and other people are also developing allergies and asthma to the stink bugs. We are in the process of developing reagents to test for allergies to these, and if you are interested in being tested at all, you can contact the Penn State Allergy Center. If interested I can leave a number. THanks.

susan jennings - January 16, 2011

Hi we recently have moved into an old farmhouse in Brighton twp. In Beaver ,Pa. This house seems infested with stinkbugs. I think the attic and drop ceilings in the second floor is harboring millions. We have tried to kill them and get rid of them to no avail. My kids allergies and asthma has really worsened since being in this house. ..my nine year old must have benadryl daily or he feels like his throat is closing up. He has always had hay fever in the spring n fall but never in the winter. My nineteen year old who has severe asthma came home for break n has been having one asthma attack after another even with benadryl and breathing treatments. What can I do ? I am at my wits end! Thank you Susan Jennings 724 513 7699 sjenning56@yahoo.com

Hi Susan! What a terrible experience! From readers’ comments here, it certainly sounds like stinkbugs might be an issue. Knowing how many things can cause asthma and allergy attacks, I’d say mold and pets’ dander from the previous owners might also be culprits. (I have two asthmatic friends who can’t visit our house for more than half an hour because of our cats.) I suggest that you contact Dr. Ishmael, the allergist who left a comment on this post (fti100@hotmail.com), and/or the Penn State Allergy Center, and see if he has any advice, or contact your allergist or pulmonary specialist. In any case, best of luck!

22. Amanda - January 30, 2011

Hi, there! Thank you for the hilarious article on stinkbugs!

I live in VA, & our stinkbug infestation has yet to subside. All through the winter, we’re STILL clearing them out of our house! A bit of advice to any who read this article: DO NOT VACUUM STINKBUGS! They get freaked out & stink up the entire vacuum. Then, for months afterward, practically every room you vacuum will smell like them. I know this from experience because, after sucking up almost 100 in less than ONE HOUR & immediately dumping the canister, we still ended up having to buy a whole new vacuum! Thanks to my daughter’s creative genius, we found the best way to eliminate the smell & the bugs is to scoop them up in a plastic bottle w/a screw-top lid (like an empty drink bottle) & just throw the suckers away. Of course, my daughter, being the weirdo she is, turns each bottle into a stinkbug-maraca before tossing it – she says it’s to “teach them a lesson about territory.”

Luckily, although my nose is sensitive enough to pick out all the ingredients in an unfamiliar food dish, I hadn’t been able to smell the “stink” they emit until the same lovely child listed above stuck an opened, freshly-shaken stinkbug-maraca under my nose, & I had the concentrated aroma of about a dozen of them wafting up my nostrils. You wanted to know what they smell like, secondhand? At the first whiff, I can explain it perfectly: go out & get a bottle of wood polish called “Murphy’s Oil Soap,” open the bottle, curl your hand into a loose fist over the opening (just big enough for your nose to fit in one end), take a HUGE sniff of it, then think about that smell multiplied by 10. That’s the exact smell of stinkbug stench.

Until my daughter forced this revelation upon me, I had no idea what she & my man were going through with their dinner mishaps. One night, my man was reheating some leftover corn in the microwave & didn’t notice a stinkbug had flown into it; it didn’t take long after the “crunch” for him to know what he bit into. Likewise, my daughter had gone for seconds of the main entree for dinner one night & didn’t notice, sometime during her eating of the first helping, that a stinkbug had landed on the meal that was on the stove; she had the similar “crunch.” Both of them completely lost their appetites, my daughter resorted to vomiting, & both of them swore like sailors about not being able to rid the smell from their mouths & noses. Of course, we keep lids on everything & thoroughly inspect every dish now before eating.

Now for the reason I came to this site. I initially was searching for a possible link between stinkbugs & allergies, & Google led me here. I’ve had asthma for a long time &, after moving to VA about 3 years ago, it had essentially disappeared – I hadn’t used so much as a rescue inhaler before this infestation hit. However, in 2010, at he very beginning of this infestation, I began having repeated respiratory infections & breathing issues. Something I couldn’t understand is that, in VA, I was no longer surrounded by the allergens my allergy tests showed I had (cats & dogs) – or had significantly less contact with them than before (dust & dust mites). I’ve been in the hospital for “respiratory distress,” “respiratory failure,” & “acute asthma” so many times & had to stay in the hospital for so long each time that I not only ended up losing my job & had to be put on several medications (8 right now, including oxygen), but my doctor has now rendered me “disabled” because of my breathing issues.

In addition to this, I’ve been told by several doctors that there seem to be many more cases of asthma & respiratory conditions this year than in prior years. I just can’t help but to think the stinkbugs may be contributing to this, as the timing seems far too coincidental. Has anyone else gone through anything even remotely similar to what I’m having to endure?

Yowee, Amanda, what a tale! Eeeewwww!!! I’m so glad you found Dr. Ishmael’s comment, and hope you’re on your way to allergy-free living once again!

Amanda - January 30, 2011

I just read the post from Dr. Ishmael. Thanks!

23. Kerry - February 11, 2011

I also have been inundated with the little pain in the a$$ critters. I very much suspect that our increased allergic symptoms have been due to them, too. I will definitely contact Dr. Ishmael.

Thanks for the funny story, too. My 11 year old son’s room is ground zero for our personal stinkbug invasion and the poor thing utters a shriek just like you described at least four nights a week for the past 8 months. I can not wait until they come up with some sort of workable extermination for these stupid bugs (the exterminator tells me that there is currently no poison that works on them).

Good luck, Kerry! I hope Dr. Ishmael can help you. And many thanks for the kind words! I definitely feel your son’s pain. I’m still shrieking, too!

24. buddy - March 31, 2011

One warm day and the little Ba$$$$erds are back out again, I had one in my coffee a week ago, got it into my mouth, then quickly realized what it was, worst time is early morning, at least 4 or 5 running around on the kitchen counter, I am dreading summer, last year my blue siding was literally black in the heat of the day.

Eeeewww, how awful, Buddy!!! They’ve started showing up here, too, but mercifully, not in our food (yet). Let’s hope those parasites the USDA is trialing work before we’re all overrun!

25. Paula Loves Marla - October 5, 2011

Fast forward to Fall 2011 and we are overrun with them in Maryland. My office was renovated this summer and now instead of covered flourecents, I now have open grids. The smelly things are frantically flying around my office and making a nuisance of themselves.

I had one actually crawl up my pant leg today so now I too smell of eau de stink bug. Lovely. Has anyone determined if they cause allergies? I’m sneezing my head off to which just seems wrong since I’m already dealing with their flying antics!

Great post!

~Paula

Thanks, Paula! Check out our newest stinkbug post—“Stinkbug trap!”—on our search bar at upper right for a potential solution. Plug the trap in when you leave work every night, and you may—we hope—find a stinkbug-free environment when you return to work.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 173 other followers

