jump to navigation

Fabulous easy salad dressing. October 25, 2008

Posted by ourfriendben in recipes.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Silence Dogood here (again). I wanted to share this recipe with you all before I forget. Last night, I took the famous Ultimate Mac’n’Cheese to our Friday Night Supper Club at our hosts’ request. (You can find the recipe by searching our blog for my earlier post, “The ultimate mac’n’cheese,” and can find out more about the Friday Night Supper Club on my earlier post “The Friday Night Supper Club”.) Our hosts had invited a new couple to last night’s dinner, and they arrived with a fabulous salad and a jar of the most delicious salad dressing. Oh, yum!

I of course asked Angie to tell me about her dressing, and her answer was a revelation. “I start out with store-brand ranch dressing,” she confessed. “I use two-thirds ranch dressing to one-third really good olive oil. Then I add the juice from a lemon, cracked black pepper, put the lid on the jar, and shake. That’s all there is to it.”

Geez. That’s all there is to it! While waiting for Carolyn to cook the broad beans, we were all dipping cherry tomatoes and lettuce leaves into the jar of dressing. Let me tell you it made an absolutely delicious veggie dip as well! In my experience, shortcuts, the “almost homemade” techniques, often backfire. But not this time. Try it, you will like it! In fact, I think you’ll be as amazed as I was. I’ve already put store-brand ranch dressing on my grocery list!

           ‘Til next time,

                    Silence

Comments»

1. greenwalks - October 25, 2008

I live with a very strict olive oil/balsamic Italian as far as salad dressing goes, but maybe I can sneak this in and not tell what the “secret ingredient” is! :)

It’s worth a try!!! I love a simple olive oil/balsamic dressing too, but I’m telling you, this was good…

2. Shibaguyz - October 25, 2008

hhhmmm… store bought dressing huh?? You have never steered us wrong before but this one might be a stretch for us. Although it does sound wonderful… DANG IT!! LOL Maybe… just maybe…

I know what you mean. Thank goodness it was referred to as “Angie’s homemade dressing” so I tried it before asking what was in it! Angie says the secret is using REALLY good olive oil in the 1/3-to-2/3s proportion, but I think very fresh cracked pepper and lots of fresh-squeezed lemon juice must give it a big lift, too.

3. deb - October 25, 2008

Sounds good Silence. We have a BBQ sauce recipe that cheats using a bottle of store bought sauce and adding mustard, italian dressing, and a little water to it.

That sounds good too, Debbi!

4. Jen - October 27, 2008

Man that is my kinda recipe. This weekend I took some store brand creamy Italian and mixed in some greek yogurt. for a good dip. I got a tip once from a cook to always use “the best olive oil you can afford” for salad. For cooking you can just use store brand extra virgin. Unfortunately for me they are often the same.

Yummo, Jen! I really love Greek yogurt (also the Greek-style pita). Sheesh, now I guess I’ll have to find some of each and see what I can come up with! Given the price of olive oil, I don’t blame you for buying the store brand. Last year I finally had a rush of brains to the head (in the immortal words of a friend’s mother) and asked my father’s girlfriend, who’s always desperate for gift ideas for us, to please give us really good olive oil and balsamic vinegar for Christmas. Boy were we thrilled when the box arrived!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 155 other followers

