jump to navigation

Activate now. October 26, 2008

Posted by ourfriendben in wit and wisdom.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Bless Yahoo! Its spam filter is really pretty good. And, though it separates out the spam, it saves the suspect messages so you have the option of reading them if you want. Our friend Ben pretty much never reads them, but I do look at the headlines before hitting delete.

Just now, I was checking e-mail and saw that I had three spam messages. Heading to the spam area, I saw with dismay that one of them was titled “Activate now.” Gulp. Perhaps someone had taken note of our friend Ben’s penchant for napping. Clearly, they felt that I was not adequately activated. Bemused and feeling guilty, I clicked on the message to see what it had to say.

As you market-savvy readers have doubtless deduced, it was actually an offer for a credit card. Gee! Just what I always wanted, especially in hard times: another line of credit, another inducement to spend money I don’t have, another source of debt. Thanks, but no thanks. It all reminded me of that classic cartoon about the Dalai Lama’s birthday, when he opens a big, beribboned box in front of all his monks, who are smiling with anticipation. Looking inside, he exclaims delightedly, “Nothing! Just what I always wanted!”

So, credit-card marketers, please: Don’t call me. And don’t waste your time hanging by the phone hoping I’ll call you.

Just the same, our friend Ben felt a sudden surge of urgency after reading that headline. Maybe I’ll head off and clean the birdcages, change the fish filters, fill the outdoor birdfeeders, sweep the leaves off the deck (for the thousandth time this week), pay some bills, catch up on the news, make some long-overdue calls. Activate now! Words to live by.

Comments»

1. Krys - October 26, 2008

I’ve been getting similar spam mail. I’ve also recently been asked at a large grocery chain store if I want to sign up for their credit card. The person seemed rather surprised when I refused. I wonder if society as a whole will mend its financial ways as a result of the events of the last few months, or if there will be only a temporary hiatus before the insanity begins again?

And all those offers for “free” credit! Gulp…

2. nancybond - October 26, 2008

Activate now. Hmm. I might just print that out in large font and hand it above my desk. :)

Ha!!! It’s certainly a thought!

3. themanicgardener - October 26, 2008

Eh–I don’t really need another reminder about the unswept floors, unraked lawns, unweeded garden beds, and uneven paths. I think I’ll stick to the sign that says, Breathe.
–Kate

I’d like one that says “Sleep,” myself!

4. Barbee' - October 26, 2008

My father used to say, “Shake a leg!”, when he wanted to get us moving.

Ha! My father is a bit more direct. His favorite is “Hoist hide, dahling!”


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 168 other followers

