jump to navigation

Toad in the road. June 26, 2009

Posted by ourfriendben in critters, homesteading, pets, wit and wisdom.
Tags:
trackback

Silence Dogood here. In the immortal words of our friend Edith Eddleman, “Heartaches, nothin’ but heartaches.” The unending rains here in scenic Pennsylvania have at least been good for water-loving creatures like amphibians. Our friend Ben and I have seen two toads here at Hawk’s Haven, one large and one smaller. Typically, female toads are larger than males, so we’ve been hoping they were a pair, though one might simply be younger and still growing. We love toads, and have been not just delighted to see these but anticipating a toad revival.

Our hopes may have been (literally) crushed this morning. I was taking our puppy Shiloh across the road to get the newspaper, and was so distracted between watching for traffic and trying to pry a hickory nut she’d somehow picked up out of her jaws, that I didn’t notice the splat of blood and guts on the road until we were on our way back across. It was small, and I assumed it was a mouse or other small rodent until my brain caught up with my eyes and I realized that there was no sign of fur or a tail. It had to be a toad.

To paraphrase John Donne, every toad’s death diminishes me. It was with much slower steps that Shiloh and I returned to the house. And then, to add insult to injury, it started to rain again.

Heartaches, and nothin’ but.

         ‘Til next time,

                     Silence

Comments»

1. Victoria - June 26, 2009

Awwww……..I can relate.

Thanks, Victoria! It’s just pitiful.

2. Gail - June 26, 2009

I passed a squirrel this morning, a victim of too fast moving morning traffic….It makes me sad, so I say a few kind word and send them on their way. It helps. gail

Yes, me too, Gail. I think of myself as the patron saint of roadkill, so I guess you’re now officially a co-saint!

3. Ratty - June 27, 2009

I see a lot of animals, so inevitably I also see the good and bad of nature. It depresses me every time I see something bad involving any of the animals. I saw a toad being eaten by a snake, and I felt sick for days. Just recently I found myself feeling sorry for a snake of the same kind, just because I scared it.

I know just what you mean, Ratty! I’d feel exactly the same way in both instances!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 171 other followers

