jump to navigation

Tasty Thai curry. August 26, 2009

Posted by ourfriendben in recipes, wit and wisdom.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Silence Dogood here. If you enjoy Thai cuisine as much as we do, but assume you could never, ever make a Thai dish yourself, I challenge you to try this super-easy curry. It’s so simple, and so flavorful, it’s really out of this world! Our friend Ben polished off his own plate, then blandly ate most of my plate too (“You don’t really want any more, right?”). Since I’m a vegetarian, this is a veggie-friendly version, but I think it would be every bit as yummy if you tossed in some boiled shrimp or diced cooked chicken.

            Basic Thai Curry

1 small carton button mushrooms, washed, ends removed, sliced

1 carton cubed extra-firm tofu, rinsed and drained

1 large sweet onion (Vidalia, WallaWalla, Candy or 1015 type), peeled and diced

1 red bell pepper, cored and cut into dice or strips

large handful or more of fresh basil leaves

2 tablespoons Thai red curry paste

can unsweetened coconut milk

1/4 package frozen unsweetened shredded coconut

1 teaspoon salt (we like Real Salt)

1 teaspoon dried Thai seasoning

1 teaspoon dried Thai curry powder

1 teaspoon dried lemon curry powder

extra-virgin olive oil

rice

Heat olive oil in a deep, heavy Dutch oven or other pan (I love my LeCreuset). Add diced onion, salt, Thai red curry paste, and dried spices, and saute until onion clarifies, adding water or veggie stock as needed to prevent sticking. (As you can see, I’m a spice fanatic, but if you can’t find all these dried spices, just get a jar of red Thai curry paste from your local grocery and go with it. Your curry will still taste great!) Add mushrooms and cook until done, then add red bell pepper, coconut milk, frozen coconut, and basil. When basil wilts, add tofu cubes, and stir gently to mix well.

At this point, turn heat to low and cook plenty of rice in your rice cooker or on the stove. By the time the rice has cooked, your curry should be ready to serve. Make a big rice “nest” on each plate and spoon the curry into the nest. This should serve four, unless one of the four is OFB!

          ‘Til next time,

                      Silence

Comments»

1. Heather - August 26, 2009

Your food posts always make me hungry:) I will have to try this one soon, sounds delicious~

Ha, they make me hungry, too, Heather! (But fortunately I’m usually too busy writing to eat.) I think you’ll enjoy this one!

2. Victoria - August 26, 2009

Oh gosh, I LOVE curry. I’ll have to try this one.

Let me know what you think!

3. steve - August 26, 2009

What time is dinner this PM?

Ha!!! This is Wednesday, so we’re having the (formerly Friday Night) Supper Club at our friends Carolyn and Gary’s tonight. And I hate to tell you, but the menu doesn’t include this delicious curry! Instead, I’m making a simple but satisfying pasta with red and yellow bell peppers, sweet onion, mushrooms, artichoke hearts, black olives, and fresh basil leaves sauteed in olive oil, spooned over spaghetti and topped with plenty of shredded Parmesan. Carolyn’s making corn on the cob, cooked beets, and salad. Rudy’s bringing wine. If Betsy comes, she’ll bring fruit-flavored sparkling water (a Silence favorite). Shiloh will be hanging around hoping for handouts. And Gary and OFB are just eating! You’re welcome to join us if you can get down here!!!

4. deb - August 27, 2009

Wow that sounds good.

Go for it, Deb! SO easy!!!

5. steve - August 27, 2009

I wish I could, said he with a smile, imagining a delightful evening for the two of us, with you two and your friends. Wow!

Loved your piece today about moral Mr. Ben. Great thoughts. You should write a book or 17.

Any chance of you guys in Texas on Oct 17. WVRon seminar on Friday PM with Billy of course.Bill is afraid the moderator will tease…bet he’s correct.

Regards, Steve

Ha! No doubt the publishers will be beating my door down any time now, along with the MacArthur award folks, the Nobel committee, and assorted others for whom I’ve been waiting for quite some time! I keep thinking maybe Bill Gates and/or Warren Buffett will be blinded by my genius and start throwing money my way, but trust me, at this point I’d gladly settle for some of Jimmy Buffett’s $100 million a year. Sadly, for some odd reason, none of them seem particularly inclined to foster my talents or, say, pay for my roof repairs with a massive (or even modest) grant. Heartaches, nothin’ but heartaches. As for Texas, I wish. But we’ll have just gotten back from our Columbus Day vacation to West Virginia (a family obligation that’s set in stone) and with my deadlines, that’s as much vacation as we can take ’til Thanksgiving. However, I expect a full report on the show from you!

6. fairegarden - August 27, 2009

Hi both, I enjoyed the story about our moral founding fathers too, but feel more comfortable leaving a comment about which I know something about, eating. Your recipe sounds wonderful and simple. I have yet to warm to the taste of coconut milk, but love curry. We assume the milk could be left out? Then it wouldn’t be Thai, but something else, like TN? Or something. HA
Frances

Try it with the coconut milk first, Frances. You don’t taste it as such, it just adds a certain creaminess to the curry sauce. If you make it and don’t like it, next time maybe try a little plain yogurt or half-and-half? Let me know what you think!

7. fairegarden - August 27, 2009

Brother, what a horrible sentence. Which one you ask? All of them! HA

Nonsense! It made perfect sense to me.

8. Alan from Roberts Roost - August 28, 2009

Made some killer peanut Thai chili fudge a few weeks ago. All the hot, sweet, pea-nutty loveliness of Thai peanut sauce in a nice little square. I may have overdone the lime a bit, but people at the market really liked it (or hated it, there were no fence sitters on that one!)

Enjoy your dinner.

Yum, I think I’d have liked that fudge too, Alan! I made the most delicious Thai peanut sauce a couple of months ago and served it over pasta. I was ecstatic, but unfortunately OFB overindulged and got really sick, so now anything Thai peanut-related has been banned. (Grrrrr.) I’m hoping that eventually the memory will fade and he’ll have a change of heart!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 171 other followers

