jump to navigation

Dr. Oz, looking younger. September 15, 2009

Posted by ourfriendben in wit and wisdom.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Silence Dogood here. I’ll bet most of you are familiar with Dr. Mehmet Oz, one of the “YOU” docs on RealAge, coauthor of YOU: Staying Young, and a frequent guest on “The Oprah Winfrey Show.” Oprah’s Harpo Productions has now created “The Dr. Oz Show,” which of course is being promoted on the RealAge website, complete with promotional photos of Dr. Oz.

Now, I have nothing but admiration for Dr. Oz. In his 49 years, he’s accomplished more than most of us would in 20 lifetimes, beginning with an undergraduate degree from Harvard and simultaneous graduate degrees—an M.D. from the University of Pennsylvania and an MBA from the Wharton Business School. (As if getting either one from these prestigious schools wouldn’t be challenging enough!) And that’s just the beginning, as you’ll discover if you check out his bio on Wikipedia as I did. This is one high achiever. And (cover your ears, OFB) he’s very easy on the eyes as well.

So you can imagine my shock when I saw the photos of the “new and improved” Dr. Oz being used to promote his new show. To repeat, we’re talking about a 49-year-old, attractive, incredibly high-achieving cardiothoracic surgeon here, not a candidate for “Extreme Makeover.” But the promotional photos showed, shall we say, a strikingly younger Dr. Oz. His face was smoother, more chiseled, and considerably leaner than the photos of the “original” Dr. Oz that had graced the RealAge website.

Not that there was anything wrong with the appearance of the “new” Dr. Oz. He looked fantastic. But it strikes me as a condemnation of our superficial society when a comparatively young, undeniably attractive, and hugely respected surgeon has to get a facelift and presumably go on a crash diet in order to get his own TV show.

The RealAge website, and books such as YOU: Looking Younger, are all about choosing the right foods and supplements and exercising, as opposed to, say, plastic surgery. But the “do as I say, not as I do” message clearly reinforces that you’d better never look older than your college-age kids or else. And, folks, we’ve all seen the ghastly results when people just keep trying and trying. (Cher, anyone? George Hamilton?)

Just this past weekend, I was watching a PBS special on Julia Child. And one thing that struck me was how old most of the people being interviewed looked. These were real people, editors and chefs and food mavens and the like who had known Julia back in the day, in all their current wrinkled glory. (Julia looked old too, but since she really was ninety-something at the time of filming, it’s understandable. If you can’t look old in your nineties, even on television, all is lost.)

What I thought as I was watching the special was that you simply never see anyone who looks old on TV or in the movies or in magazines. Sure, character actors may be supposed to be old, the crusty grandpa or fiesty grandma, but even they don’t look old. The hair may be white, they may be wearing “old folks” costumes and walking with a cane, but look at their smooth, made-up faces. Yow. Not a wrinkle in sight. So seeing actual people showing their actual age on this special came as a shock. Look, people really do get old! People really do look old!

As I read about more people in their 30s, and increasingly in their 20s, getting plastic surgery, not to improve some unfortunate feature but to erase the signs of “age,” I have to wonder where on earth our youth-obsessed culture is taking us. Maybe the fact that my family never gets wrinkles has warped my perspective, and if I had prominent crow’s feet in my 20s I’d have been rushing off to the surgeon, too. But I hope not. (And no, we’re not vampires, just in case you’re wondering.) I’d prefer to keep my money in the bank instead of handing it over to the plastic surgeons and ultimately turning into a laughingstock. 

Much as I admire Dr. Oz, I think I’m switching allegiance to Dr. Gupta.

            ‘Til next time,

                         Silence

Comments»

1. Lzyjo - September 15, 2009

I LOVE Sanjay Gupta!!!! Ali Velshi as another favorite!!! Go CNN!

Ha!!!

2. Joy - September 16, 2009

Silence .. I thought it was just me when I quickly flipped onto Oz’s show .. but you are SO right .. how sad is that ? Another one of Oprah’s fledglings .. who gets their own show and under goes the Hollywood MUSTS to not only have the show ,but maintain it in the ratings.
I might have watched this show if it had stayed REAL .. it is such a disappointment when the varnish is applied in liberal amounts to appeal to us ? the real people who will never look like these puppets ? How ironic is that ??..
Not only is the North American society advancing more and more into the “have and have not” .. it is also the portrayal of “LOOK at ME and how I have altered myself to look younger and BETTER than YOU !!” .. and because I am not only “better” than you .. I will be accepted in the elite ranks of making far more money and influence, because of the way I look and WHO I know ” ?
It is such a “ME” society with the rich and famous .. but how do they get that way ? .. because we buy their products from books to TV shows .. what would happen if it all just STOPPED ? what would “they” do ?

An excellent point, Joy! In fact, I think I’ll write a post about it right now!

3. Jen - September 16, 2009

I always feel a little pang of sadness when I see that my favorite actresses have gotten facelifts. And to realize that many of them are probably doing it not out of vanity but pressure to be more youthful for their careers. I sure hope Dr. Oz’s “rejuvenation” wasn’t a condition of his getting his own show!

I agree, Jen. When I see an actor like Hugh Grant who obviously has NOT gotten a facelift, I’m always hugely impressed. Apparently some people can find the strength to resist the pressure!

4. Mary Boxer - January 6, 2010

I noticed Dr Oz had a facelift on this weeks Woman’s World. In that photo he looks alot like Michael Jackson. Hope he doesn’t do anything else, I liked the craggy look better.

Yikes, Mary! Now THAT’s scary!

M Martin - January 15, 2010

We talked about Dr. Oz’s age this morning. I guessed 50. my friend guessed 52. Surgery or not, he does not look younger then he is. My husband just turned 80…he is guessed at 70-75. I am 71 and I am always guessed 6 – 10 years younger. Even on Realage I am 8 years younger then my realage. We haven’t had surgery either!
How is it that some one that looks his age tells the world how to look younger?

Ha! Good point!

5. Melinda - April 28, 2010

I just saw dr oz on the early show this morning..and it’s noticable that he has had something done as around his eyes the skin was pulled back toward his hair. I am extremely disappointed :(

Yes, it’s really too bad!

6. JoAnne - April 28, 2010

I also noticed.

Seems like an awful price to pay for popularity, JoAnne!

7. Junebug - May 27, 2011

I was looking at Dr. Oz’s promotional at the beginning of his show and he looked so much younger at 45 when his face was fuller and hair thicker. I think he really has aged since he started his own show. I don’t like the drawn look of his face and how skinny he has become. He’s a great guy but he needs to put a little more weight on. He looks so gaunt.

So true, Junebug! He used to be so handsome.

8. sylvie - November 23, 2011

I thought it was just me, but I am so disappointed in Dr Oz’s appearance, he is so, so thin and looks terrible, dont know what hes done to his face, he looked so much better before, what a shame for a doctor who preaches to us so, so much that he would alter his appearance to such an extreme. He really looks ill he is so thin.

I agree, sylvie! Too sad.

9. lisofby - April 8, 2012

i have nothing against plastic surgery, if people are doing it from choice. however, i used to occasionally catch sight of a dr. on oprah, we australians would say is a spunk! watching dr oz on his show, i was thinking , “what has happened?”. recently my son came in and said that man looks like a little elf.” he looks as though he’s had eye brows arched up, and now with his pointy ears…
maybe you guys are right though, maybe he needs to b\ulk up with some healthy fat and muscle. 50 odd is too young to look like that!

So true, and so sad, Lisofby! But perhaps now he’d be a natural in the movie version of The Hobbit!

10. Margaret - July 24, 2012

Just FYI — Julia Child had two facelifts but by the time you reach 90 they don’t seem noticeable any longer.

Ha! So true, Margaret! You’d think at 90 you could rest on your laurels, but if memory serves, Julia never even let her hair go grey.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 181 other followers

