jump to navigation

Stiiiiiink bugs. October 12, 2009

Posted by ourfriendben in critters, wit and wisdom.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Silence Dogood here. Faithful readers know of my unending battles with my mortal enemy, stink bugs, here at Hawk’s Haven, the cottage home our friend Ben and I share in the precise middle of nowhere, PA. They manage to insinuate themselves into our house, then lurk unobtrusively until my attention is on something else. Then, RRRRRrrrrrBOOM!!!, they dive-bomb onto me or a nearby surface, scaring the hell out of me and providing yet another test of my cardiac fitness. Just yesterday, I saw three stink bugs waiting their chance near the front door. Grrrrrr. I hate stink bugs.

Today, however, I was thinking about garlic, not stink bugs, while writing a post for our blog, Poor Richard’s Almanac. Our local paper had mentioned a Dracula Dip Contest at a nearby garlic festival and it captured my attention. Dracula Dip! Priceless! (For recipes, search this blog for “Dracula dip.”)

Admittedly, to many people, garlic stinks. Stink bugs apparently stink if you squash them, hence the name. But I was still not prepared to go to our WordPress “dashboard stats” page and see that someone had come on our blog looking for “garlic stink bugs.” Eeeeeewwwww!!!! Let’s hope they weren’t planning to try them with the Dracula Dip.

         ‘Til next time,

                   Silence

Comments»

1. elephant's eye - October 12, 2009

It may have been just a prosaic search for a garlic spray to deter bugs??

Ah, good point, Diana! Let’s hope so.

2. Alan from Roberts Roost - October 13, 2009

maybe the garlic cancels out the stinkbug smell and makes them the next best thing since fried grasshoppers. Dare you to try it.

Ha! Sorry, I’m vegetarian. Guess you’ll have to be the pioneer.

3. Alan from Roberts Roost - October 13, 2009

I’m pretty sure stink bugs are vegetarian too. Just think of them as processed vegetables. (kind of like cows.)

Ha!!! My favorite comment on this came from our friend Rudy’s German father, who’d told Rudy to invite us to Easter dinner at his house. “I can’t, Silence is a vegetarian and you’re serving lamb!” Rudy replied. To which his father blandly responded, “Lambs are vegetarians.” Hard to argue with that!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 158 other followers

