jump to navigation

Resolutions. December 31, 2010

Posted by ourfriendben in Ben Franklin, wit and wisdom.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Our friend Ben, Silence Dogood, and Richard Saunders, the bloggers here at Poor Richard’s Almanac, are in agreement about New Year’s resolutions: one apiece is plenty. But if you’re just going to have one, it damn well better count. These are our resolutions for 2011:

Our friend Ben: I’ve decided it’s time to write a fictional autobiography of our hero and blog mentor, Benjamin Franklin. That’s my resolution for 2011. It’s going to take tons of research, but wow, will it be fun. Let’s hope publishers and the reading public love it as I do!

Richard Saunders: I live on the East Coast, where Colonial and Revolutionary history took place, and history is my passion. But I’ve been really slackadaisical about going to historical sites and Colonial reenactments, and there’s no excuse for that. This year, my girlfriend Bridget and I have resolved to go to more historical sites, like Valley Forge and Jamestown, and to more Revolutionary reenactments like Washington’s Crossing. Maybe we’ll even manage to pull off Christmas at Williamsburg—America’s first capital—with OFB and Silence this year!  

Silence Dogood: Gee, I was going to say that my resolution for 2011 was to win the lottery. But with the guys getting all hifalutin and historical, I guess I’d better reconsider. So for 2011, my resolution is to learn more about Colonial and Federal-era cooking. Maybe our friend Ben and I won’t end up cooking our meals over an open fire, but I’ll bet I could make or adapt a bunch of Colonial-era favorite “receipts” and serve up a really yummy spread.

Your turn! What are your New Year’s resolutions?

And a happy, healthy, productive, prosperous New Year to all of you from our friend Ben, Richard Saunders, Silence Dogood, Shiloh, Linus, and, of course, from our hero and blog mentor, the great Dr. Franklin himself!

Comments»

1. Dave - December 31, 2010

I think I’ll try to keep my resolutions simple this year! So in that spirit my resolution will simply be to “Keep it simple!”

Ha! Great resolution, Dave!

2. deb - January 1, 2011

Dropped by to wish y’all a Happy New Year. No resolutions this year for me.

Hi Deb! Thanks so much for stopping by! Wishing you and yours a happy, healthy, productive, prosperous new year!!!

3. Helen at Toronto Gardens - January 1, 2011

I’m going to keep it even simpler and let someone else make my resolution for me. Thanks, Dave! Happy new year to all the Poor Richard’s Almanackers.

Ha! Thanks, Helen! And the same back atcha!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 178 other followers

