jump to navigation

Don’t it make my brown eyes… orange?! February 23, 2011

Posted by ourfriendben in wit and wisdom.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Our friend Ben was bemused to see that someone had come on our blog, Poor Richard’s Almanac, this morning with the query “why do brown eyes look orange.” Now, our friend Ben has observed a wide variation in brown eye shades, from so dark that the iris and pupil seem to be one through every shade of brown—chocolate, mahogany, chestnut—through the red-gold lights of claret and the green-gold-brown changeability of hazel eyes. But orange? I’ve never seen a person with orange eyes.

Intrigued, I headed to my good friend Google to see what I could find out. It appeared that someone had asked a similar question of a site called AnswerBuddha.com, and received an answer. I quote:

“Why do my brown eyes look orange? Like, if I am not in a very light room, they look medium brown, but if it is bright or if I’m outside, they are orange with black flecks in them. It looks really cool! But why is this? Other people’s brown eyes don’t always do…” [this was the end of the question, as presented on AnswerBuddha.com; whether there was more, or at least, more than "this," our friend Ben can't say]

“OMG MINE DO THAT TOO!!! When I put on my dark brown eye liner it makes my brown eyes look Orange. So cool. Be happy!!! its so cool. but i dont get black spec’s. (HaLlOwEeN colors!)”

Still reeling from this exchange, our friend Ben next headed to Wikipedia, which shed some light on the topic in a discussion of amber eyes: “Amber eyes are of a solid color and have a strong yellowish/golden and russet/coppery tint… Many animals…have amber eyes as a common color, whereas in humans this color occurs less frequently, more in places like Brazil and Asia…”

Well, “a russet/coppery tint” qualifies as orange in my book. Unfortunately, the Wikipedia article didn’t say specifically where amber eyes fall on the human rarity scale, though it did note that green was the rarest of human eye colors. (Our friend Ben’s parents and siblings all have green eyes; mine are blue to blue-green, depending on what I’m wearing—really!—apparently deriving from my maternal grandparents’ very blue eyes.)

Now I’ll have to try to pay more attention to other people’s eye color and see if I can find a few amber-eyed folks wandering around. So if you’re in the southeastern quadrant of Pennsylvania and find somebody staring in your eyes, it might not be a hypnotist, occultist, or pervert; it might just be yours truly trying to see if, like, OMG, your eyes are ORANGE and they look, like, so cool…

Comments»

1. Elephant's Eye - February 23, 2011

Nah mine are just cow brown. Next!

Ha! Nothing wrong with a soulful brown, Diana! One startling thing I discovered in my research is that you can actually get orange contact lenses. I should have known!

2. Dave - February 24, 2011

Wow you guys get some creative Googlers! No such posts that I know of on my site. It does make things entertaining!

Well, it certainly keeps us entertained, Dave!

3. thomas - June 24, 2011

i think i have amber eyes. found out i might have amber eyes by looking at eye colours on wikipedia. they go from orangey/ish to brown.

Good for you, thomas! Changeable eyes are always fun.

4. Hayley - July 26, 2011

My eyes turn orange-ish in the light but are usually a medium to dark brown. I guess it’s something kind of neat to spice up my boring old brown eyes.

This is my eye color without a lot of light or a softer light: http://i63.photobucket.com/albums/h126/adreada_lynn/27016_341825449126_512189126_3535824_3252757_n.jpg

And this is what my eyes look like in the sunlight or really harshly bright light:

Cool, Hayley! Thanks for sharing the photos!

5. Stephanie - August 15, 2011

I’m not that far from you, in Ohio. I have amber eyes. I was never sure how to answer on my eye color. Too warm to be considered light brown. And too solid to be considered hazel. They do turn an orange/yellow in the sunlight or other bright lighting. If I go to Pennsylvania, I’ll be looking for someone staring into my eyes now.

Ha! I’ll keep an eye out for you, Stephanie! So to speak…

6. Stephanie - August 15, 2011

These are a few pics of my eye/eyes under different lighting. The ones with makeup on are with indoor lighting. The bare eyes are under bright light. I hope they go through. I’ve never posted pics this way through my phone before.

They came through loud and clear, Stephanie! Your eyes are stunning!!!

7. Daniel - January 1, 2012

My eyes turn orange in the light too, especially in the sunlight as well as my mother’s and my sister’s eyes.

I think it’s a pretty rare color here in Mexico.

Sounds like your family lucked out, Daniel! It’s apparently a rare color everywhere, so you all should enjoy it.

8. jbgray - April 18, 2012

A girl who used to work with me had the most astonishing amber eyes—a bright, pale golden-yellow you can’t even mistake for hazel or brown. I was so shocked when I first noticed that I called her back for a closer look!

9. Abby Maquera - May 31, 2012

Hi I think I have brown-orange-amberish eyes! Check out my pic and tell me what you think! In normal light they are a medium brown but in bright light and sunlight they turn to the color in the picture.

DSC_0789

10. Annelie - October 9, 2012

My eyes get a shade of orange (and sometimes red) when i am angry! Saw it at work and the people commented on this! Ooooo u must be angry your eyes are red again

11. Maryam Malmstrom - July 21, 2014

My eyes are dark brown most of the time, but the moment I go outside into the sunlight they turn bright orange. I’m talking about real orange, not amber or hazel. Orange. It can look pretty weird in photos. Lol.

Wow!!! Wish I could see them.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 181 other followers

