jump to navigation

The vegetarian’s dilemma. July 13, 2012

Posted by ourfriendben in wit and wisdom.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Silence Dogood here. I just read that a Match.com survey of 4,000 people revealed that 30% of meat-eaters wouldn’t date a vegetarian or vegan, as opposed to just 4% of vegetarians who wouldn’t date a meat-eater. This brought back memories of my mother’s horror when I became a vegetarian: She was sure I’d never get a date again.

I guess I was lucky. I dated a hugely committed vegetarian when I was still a meat-eater, and it wasn’t a deal-breaker for me. Everyone since has eaten meat while I was a vegetarian, and they didn’t seem to have a problem with that. My ex-husband, who ate meat while we were married, became a passionate vegetarian after our divorce. And our friend Ben, who eats meat when we dine out, has been very contented with my vegetarian home cooking and has made a real effort to man up to my new vegan cuisine.

The only thing that surprises me is that the percentages on both sides aren’t considerably higher. Bonding over food is one of our strongest ways to connect with others and to assert and reinforce our group identity. And meat is the food of the elite, the strong, the manly. The wealthy can afford to have their personal chefs prepare the seafood-based diets that keep them thin; for the rest of us, a steak is the ultimate luxury, and fried chicken or barbecue or a pepperoni pizza or burger the ultimate comfort food. My mother was right to be worried. Whatever sets you apart from your group isolates you, and we humans are inherently social beings. We want to belong, and if belonging means conforming, most of us try hard to fit in.

Then there are the rest of us, the ones who want to wear clothes that are flattering to us rather than the current styles; the ones who couldn’t care less about celebrities and mindless shopping; the ones who’ve never smoked a cigarette or taken drugs, and who don’t drink beer because we don’t like the taste and aren’t willing to cultivate it just to fit in. The ones who are bored to tears by sports and sitcoms and reality TV and refuse to waste their precious time watching them just to be part of the crowd. The ones who want to make their own decisions rather than being manipulated and told what to do.

Match.com, and my mother, are here to tell us that there’s a high social price for going our own way. But I’m living proof that it ain’t necessarily so. And there’s one thing I can say for sure: Avoiding the pressure to pretend to be someone you’re not makes for a wonderful, enjoyable life.

As Shakespeare said, “To thine own self be true.”

               ‘Til next time,

                        Silence

Comments»

1. Fang - July 14, 2012

Non-conformist for life. Whereas I don’t judge people by the food they eat and don’t mind at all hanging out with meat-eaters, I do envision I would have some sort of difficulty with a meat-eating spouse (if I EVER manage to have a spouse, that is – not like I want to >_> lost faith in humanity, no offense).

But meat eating aside, I am someone who does a lot of things the mainstream does not, from my clothes to the sort of music I listen to. And believe me, the social price, isn’t a price to pay at all.

No offense taken, Fang! And I agree, it would be a lot harder to have a spouse or partner who ate meat in the house. Fortunately, in my case, both my ex and OFB were happy to eat vegetarian at home and meat when we go out (and for lunch when they were at work), an arrangement that’s worked out well for us.

2. narf77 - July 15, 2012

You only get one turn on lifes merry-go-round and it’s wise to choose something real so that you arrive at the end having looked out the window and enjoyed the ride and willing to step off the bus rather than having to be forceably ejected screaming but the long suffering conductor.

So true, Fran! I’ve always focused on the essence of other people rather than the surface, and it’s definitely paid off!

3. chopinslut - July 20, 2012

And so he did, with much help from Ms. Dogwood. And still is. With thanks to Ms. Dogwood.

I remain proud of you!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 156 other followers

