jump to navigation

How not to make a vegan pizza. July 25, 2012

Posted by ourfriendben in wit and wisdom.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Silence Dogood here. Let’s say you’ve become a vegan and are desperately craving pizza, but you’re not up for pseudo-cheese. Here’s what you shouldn’t do: Send our friend Ben out to a local pizza place to get a takeout pizza where half has no cheese and is topped with mushrooms and onions. As my college roommate, Ellen Rogers, would have said, “Grahdoo, honey!!!”

First of all, you need a whole-wheat crust to give the pizza some depth of flavor. And next, in the absence of cheese, you need a lot of really rich, luscious tomato sauce, not just a dab of jarred stuff smeared over the pizza so it’s barely even visible. I’ll give the restaurant credit for adding plenty of both mushrooms and onions. But the slices would have been far better with some oregano, red pepper flakes, and salt (or seasoned herb salt) to kick them up a notch, as Emeril would say.

I think the crust and sauce are the keys here, and I’m still convinced despite last night’s disaster that a hearty, satisfying vegan pizza is possible. Suggestions?

           ‘Til next time,

                        Silence  

 

 

Comments»

1. narf77 - August 1, 2012

In a sentance…

http://veganmanifesto.blogspot.com.au/2012/05/sneak-peak-artisan-vegan-cheese.html

I have my name on the waiting list at The Book Depository and after checking out Youtube and seeing how this author makes home made fermented vegan cheese, I will be making my OWN artisan cheeses at home from then on. Sitting in front of the television balancing an artisan cheese, artichoke, wholegrain pizza on my no doubt expanding belly is most probably my own personal nirvana…Artisan cheeses here I come!

Oh, wow, Fran, thanks SO much for the tip-off! Count me in too!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 167 other followers

