jump to navigation

It’s time for a rain dance. July 28, 2012

Posted by ourfriendben in gardening, wit and wisdom.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

It’s finally been raining in our friend Ben’s part of scenic PA. The corn has come back to life in the farmers’ fields; Silence Dogood and I are less worried about our well running dry. But in much of the rest of the country, the drought continues unabated, threatening widespread crop failures and Dustbowl-like conditions. Our heart goes out to everyone who’s anxiously watching the unforgiving skies.

If you have Native American healers in your area, it might be time to call them in to perform a rain dance. Otherwise, you can always try it yourself. Here’s part of a beautiful chant from the Navajo, who know what it is to live in arid conditions:

“Happily may I walk

Happily, with abundant dark clouds, may I walk

Happily, with abundant showers, may I walk

Happily, with abundant plants, may I walk

Happily, on a trail of pollen, may I walk

Happily may I walk

Being as it used to be long ago, may I walk

 

May it be beautiful before me

May it be beautiful behind me

May it be beautiful below me

May it be beautiful above me.

May it be beautiful all around me.

In beauty it is finished.

In beauty it is finished.”

See? You don’t even have to dance; you can just walk around your property. Whether you carry a white-sage smudge stick is up to you.

 

Comments»

1. h.ibrahim - July 28, 2012

Beautiful thought!

So true! The world would be a better place if all of us thought in these terms all the time!

2. SaraC - July 29, 2012

I love that, thanks for sharing! We are dry all summer and that’s normal here. We even got some rain last week which was a treat, but all this is after 10 or so years of hard drought in CA. I understand the rain dance, though I’ve never employed such lovely words before.

Thanks, Sara! The Navajo have such a beautiful way of looking at the world, especially given how barren their environment is and how poor in material things. It’s a great lesson for us all!

3. narf77 - August 1, 2012

We have had a very dry winter here in Northern Tasmania this year. I think its time for a world rain dance to be honest…oh…apart from the U.K. where they have had your rain…our rain…AND Canada’s rain for the year right through summer. They can be excused from dancing.

Ha! I think we should ask them to give it back!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 158 other followers

