jump to navigation

‘Tis the season to be tempted. November 11, 2012

Posted by ourfriendben in wit and wisdom.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Silence Dogood here. Our Tasmanian blogging friend Fran (http://theroadtoserendipity.wordpress.com/) reminded me that conspicuous consumption had become the order of the day aound the holidays, and that it behooved us to try to celebrate in a manner befitting the meaning of the season. I hate it that now, the day after Hallowe’en, it’s become the norm for stores to put out the Christmas stuff and completely override Harvest Home and its major festival Thanksgiving, with its dual themes of abundance and gratitude.

But there’s one aspect of the hype and hoopla that I love: The gorgeous gift catalogs our friend Ben and I receive every year around this time. I love to see the food and cooking equipment, the jewelry, the ornaments, the household items (from homespun to sumptuous), the crafts, the museum catalogs with their exquisite cards, the plants and garden supplies, the cookbooks, the travel books—pretty much everything. And of course, I want all this luscious stuff for myself.

Need I say, the holiday season is expensive enough without spending additional money on yourself. So how can you let yourself enjoy the endless temptations of the season without succumbing to them? With catalogs, it’s easy, since it’s not as easy to actually shop as it is in a store or online. I’ve developed a two-step process that allows me to indulge myself while keeping my credit card safely in my purse.

I find catalogs to be perfect bedtime reading: They appeal to the senses while demanding nothing from the mind. This allows me to relax with a tempting catalog and savor every photo and description while keeping my mind from revving (if I start thinking immediately before bed, I often don’t sleep for hours). Then, in the morning, I put the catalog away. And promptly forget about it. I’ve had my fun, indulged in my fantasies, and protected my feeble checking account. Try it, I think you’ll like it!

               ‘Til next time,

                          Silence

Comments»

1. narf77 - November 11, 2012

And THEN you can spend some time happily snipping up the catalogues and turning them into compost to benefit your garden :) Its ALL gravy! ;) we are just about to go hunting some driftwood on the river banks to make our Christmas tree this year. The borers ate last years :(…good luck going through THIS one borers! ;)

Alas, they’re all laminated, Fran, no good for the garden! But I do save the nicest in a box with my Christmas books (and old Christmas magazines) to enjoy again in later years… As for your poor tree, borers, yikes!!! How on earth did that happen?! I may succumb and get a Norfolk Island pine this year; I adored my old one and it thrived for over a decade, until an especially large and clumsy cat knocked it over and (inadvertently, of course) destroyed it. I’ve wanted another ever since, and am hoping perhaps the current cats are past the age of pulling one over…

2. h.ibrahim - November 12, 2012

She’s alive!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 168 other followers

