jump to navigation

Paying those awful bills. January 19, 2013

Posted by ourfriendben in wit and wisdom.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Silence Dogood here. Does bill-paying make you sweat, make you feel sick, uncontrollably nervous, shaky, queasy? Does it make your pulse race or make you light-headed or panicky? You’re not alone.

I hate paying bills. I hate the fact that they come due throughout the month rather than all coming due on the 1st, 15th, or 30th of each month, so you’d at least know when you had to pay them. I hate seeing thousands of dollars flying out the door every month on bills I have no choice but to pay, such as health insurance (and car and home insurance), electricity, phone, and fuel oil. I hate the pressure that seeing that drain on my account each month puts on me.

Maybe it isn’t as bad if your bills are automatically deducted from your paycheck each month, so you not only don’t have to deal with them but you don’t really even have to see them. But I’m a freelancer and don’t have a monthly paycheck, so I have to pay the bills myself, check by check, every month. Seeing how little is coming in versus how much is going out is a real panic. I’d rather stick pins in my fingers than sit down to pay bills. Seriously.

How do you handle paying bills?

‘Til next time,

Silence

Comments»

1. Huma - January 21, 2013

Yes you are quite right about limited funds being bled out of our accounts but there is also a certain kind of gratitude when you are able to pay your bills and not taking two out of a hat every month!

Having thought about this further, I think most of my resentment about bill-paying lies in the nature of the bills (though the staggered, unpredictable nature of when the bills are due is definitely part of it). I don’t mind paying for groceries and other things that actually interest me. It’s the “invisible” bills, for things I have no interest in but still must pay for every month, that drive me crazy and cause such stress.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 168 other followers

