jump to navigation

Doh! Finally, I understand the difference between # and @. June 17, 2013

Posted by ourfriendben in wit and wisdom.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

The Wall Street Journal published an article this morning on the importance of using hashtags (#whatever) to promote your business. It’s an excellent article, helping readers figure out how and how not to use hashtags.

But it was even more useful to a Luddite like yours truly, because until I read it, I hadn’t understood the distinction between # and @, and I’d been terribly confused. Now I understand that @ is a Twitter convention, but # can be used anywhere, including Facebook.

As a Luddite, I’ll never use Twitter or Facebook, but at least now, thanks to the WSJ, I understand the lingo. If anybody else has been confused by this, I hope it’s now cleared up for them as well.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 168 other followers

