jump to navigation

The search for the perfect climate. June 27, 2013

Posted by ourfriendben in wit and wisdom.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Silence Dogood here. You could say that my comfort zone is more like a stripe. I can’t endure heat or humidity, much less heat and humidity. And I hate frigid, snow- and ice-bound conditions as well. My comfort stripe falls in the pleasantly cool to pleasantly warm range, say, 60 to 75 degrees F., and I’d like it to stay there around the year. (Well, maybe one snowstorm on Christmas Eve so we could have a white Christmas, but then snow begone ’til next year.)

But where, oh where, does such a place exist?! I left my native Nashville because I couldn’t endure the hot, humid summers, and moved up north to our present home in scenic Pennsylvania. When I moved, summer temps in our area seldom rose above the low 80s, and the humidity was bearable. Now, it routinely hits the 90s (and above) for days or weeks on end, with the hot-washrag cloak of humidity plastering the heat to your body. Gack!

Every summer, I tell our friend Ben that it’s time to pack up and head to Nova Scotia. Mind you, I’ve been to Minneapolis and Montreal in the summer, and they’re not just delightful cities, but the climate—at least back when I went—was deliciously pleasant. However, I still remember seeing the glassed-in walkways high above the streets in Minneapolis and asking my friend Cole, who then lived there, why they were there.

Yikes! I can’t recall glass enclosures like that in Montreal, but the thought of temperatures so low and snow and ice so high for months on end curdles my blood. Where, oh where, are the temperatures moderate all year long?

This morning, after weeks in the high 80s and now high 90s, I suggested to our friend Ben that, given global warming, perhaps we should move to Iceland. But OFB, who not only studied the old Icelandic sagas in grad school but has a far greater knowledge of world geography than yours truly, pointed out that Iceland is home to several active and dangerous volcanoes. So much for that. I’d rather die from heat stroke than from a Pompeii-style live burial.

I’m not too fond of hurricanes, earthquakes, tsunamis or tornadoes, either. I’d like a tranquil, temperate place with lots of (calm) water. Anybody have a recommendation?

If not, and if global warming continues at this pace, perhaps one day you’ll read a post from me or OFB from our comfy new home in the Arctic Circle.

‘Til next time,

Silence

Comments»

1. Becca - July 10, 2013

Silence, now is the time to visit Florida! We’ve been in the 80s for a week! :)

Sigh. Would that we could!!!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 168 other followers

