jump to navigation

Pineapple-coconut cream pie. June 20, 2011

Posted by ourfriendben in homesteading, recipes.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Silence Dogood here. Our friend Ben’s new favorite dish is my Thai curry. (Find the recipe by typing “Quick’n’yummy Thai curry” into our search bar at upper right.) So when I asked him what he’d like for me to make for Father’s Day, he didn’t think twice before requesting it. No worries there.

But OFB has a sweet tooth, and I wanted to make him a memorable dessert for his Father’s Day meal that wasn’t too time-consuming. I’d planned to make Key lime pie, but when he requested the Thai curry, which he especially loves because of the coconut and unsweetened coconut milk that go in it, I decided an adjustment was in order. How about a crushed pineapple cream pie with a coconut topping? 

So okay, I’d never made crushed pineapple pie before. I’ve never even eaten it. I can’t figure out how I knew it existed. But something told me it would be just right. So I headed to my good friend Google to look for a recipe, and hit the jackpot right away at allrecipes.com.

There it was, a recipe for Crushed Pineapple Sour Cream Pie that was so simple, I could make it Sunday afternoon in five minutes and chill it until serving time Sunday night, conserving my energy for the curry. Yes!!! That’s my kind of dessert. The only question was, would it be good? I was determined to find out, and bought the few necessary ingredients to put together on the big day.

The recipe called for a baked 9-inch pie shell, but I agreed with its originator that a storebought or homemade graham-cracker crust was probably a better idea for a no-bake pie like this. With a graham-cracker crust, any child could make this pie, to her or his pride and the delight of everyone who ate it.

Once you have the shell, you get out a mixing bowl and pour in an 8-ounce can of crushed pineapple with juice. Add 2 tablespoons white sugar and a 3.5-ounce package of instant vanilla pudding mix, and stir it all really well. Then stir in a cup of sour cream, beat the filling for 2 minutes, and pour it into the pie shell. Refrigerate for at least an hour and a half, and top with whipped cream before serving.

At least, that’s what the directions said. They also said to use a mixer to beat the ingredients for 2 minutes before pouring them into the pie shell. Hmmm. I wasn’t buying it. I also resented having to buy an 8-ounce can of crushed pineapple at full price when my grocery was selling 16-ounce cans for $1. And my box of vanilla pudding was 5.1 ounces, not 3.5. Not to mention that a 16-ounce container of sour cream is way cheaper than an 8-ounce version.

Next time I make this, I’ll make two pies, and take the second one to our Friday Night Supper Club gathering. It won’t take any more time, and will cost hardly more, than making one. I topped my pie with a sprinkling of organic dehydrated shredded coconut, and added a dollop of whipped cream when I cut and served it. I actually think a mix of toasted coconut and toasted almond or pistachio pieces might make a fabulous topping, and plan to try that next time, too. And needless to say, I didn’t use a blender to mix the filling; why have yet another appliance to wash? Beating it with a spoon worked just as well, and was so fast and easy.   

Could something this simple actually taste good? Let’s just say OFB practically swooned at the first bite. I think the whole pie would have vanished on the spot if I hadn’t cut him off after two slices. He had a very happy Father’s Day, and I didn’t have to spend untold hours whipping up an elaborate dessert. Everyone was happy! Try it and see how your family likes it.

               ‘Til next time,

                            Silence

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

