jump to navigation

Tell me about Etsy. January 6, 2012

Posted by ourfriendben in homesteading, Uncategorized.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Silence Dogood here. Money continues to be tight here at Hawk’s Haven in 2012, and I’ve been thinking of trying to sell some of my work to raise a little much-needed cash. Naturally, Etsy springs to mind, since it allows people to set up “shops” and sell handmade items on its site. I know at least two bloggers who have Etsy shops, but I don’t really know anything about Etsy, except for a staggering statistic I read that over 400,000 people sell on the site. 400,000! Would that be every crafter in America?!  

Anyway, I’m hoping that some of you who have experience selling on Etsy can help me out. Is the site hard to use? (Remember, you’re speaking to a techno-moron here, a genuine Luddite.) Is it difficult to set up a virtual shop on Etsy? Is the shop format flexible? Can you actually make any money, or is it more for raising enough cash to support your own favorite crafts/collectibles habit? How much of a hassle is it to deal with the payment process? And what about the whole legal/tax/small business aspect?

Anything you could tell me would be much appreciated!

             ‘Til next time,

                           Silence

Comments»

1. Barbee' - January 6, 2012

I hope you get some comments about this, because I have wondered the same things.

Thanks, Barbee’! Let’s see what comes in. Maybe we’ll both have Etsy shops before year’s end!

2. Becca - January 7, 2012

Hi Silence! A subject near to my…wallet! I’ve sold on etsy since 2007 and I think we do pretty well with it. Granted, our overhead is very low. I have filed taxes the last two years and I use a website called outright that is connected to my paypal card. I use the paypal card (where I receive payments) just like a debit/credit card. I can only spend the money that’s in that account and all transactions go through outright so I can keep them organized. At the end of the year, I print out my forms and plug them in to the tax return!

I think the big thing for success with handmade goods is to create some kind of niche. Hope some of that was helpful!

Oh! I find etsy very easy to use. The format has changed since I started and it’s much simpler. What else? Just read up on keywords and tags and making great titles and such. 🙂

Thanks, Becca! I was hoping you’d share some wisdom from your adventures with The Home Gnome! I definitely have a niche, and I’ve ordered a couple of books on finding your way around Etsy from Amazon. But I still need good graphics! Anyway, many thanks for the tips and encouragement!

Becca - January 7, 2012

By graphics, do you mean making a banner and so forth? I make my banners using picnik and Graphics Fairy clip art. I really look forward to seeing your shop!

BTW, I think you are a bunny lover as well? We’re hoping to branch out to Flemish Giants this year. I am in love with those mutant giant rabbits! 🙂

Thanks, Becca!!! And good luck with your Flemish Giants!


Leave a Reply

