jump to navigation

Keep your cool while exercising. March 31, 2012

Posted by ourfriendben in wit and wisdom.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Silence Dogood here. I’ve been reading how people can exercise longer and harder if they keep their hands cool. This is considered breaking news, based on a just-published study in which obese women were able to exercise longer and get impressively better results (as in, a 3-inch average waist reduction)  than a control group when they wore hi-tech cooling gloves. (I read a more compelling article about this in Yahoo! News, but you can get the gist of it in “Cool Hands May Help People Exercise Longer” on WebMD.)

Problem: The gloves, technically AVAcore CoreControl devices, which Yahoo noted had “long been used by elite athletes” (God help the poor non-“elite” athletes) to improve performance, cost a mere $3,000. Not exactly up there in most of us non-elite schmoes’ athletic budgets. All the articles suggest holding a frozen bottle of water as an alternative cooling device.

Well, I don’t know about you, but my coordination isn’t up to holding a couple of frozen water bottles (or even one) while trying to do aerobics, weight-lifting, or treadmill walking. In general, at 4 mph, I’m holding on to the treadmill for dear life. And yes, that death-grip does indeed heat up my hands after about a half-hour to the point of discomfort. So I wave them.

Say what? Strange but true, I’ve found that waving one hand, then the other (while clinging to the treadmill bar for dear life with the other hand) cools my hands off instantly, and for far longer than, say, wiping them on my tee-shirt. I do this whenever I feel my hands getting hot, and it does allow me to walk comfortably for an hour.

Try it next time you’re exercising and find yourself with hot hands! It may look a little odd, but if someone sees you doing it, maybe they’ll think you’re just trying to be friendly.

              ‘Til next time,

                           Silence

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

