jump to navigation

A new way to cook potstickers. April 2, 2012

Posted by ourfriendben in recipes.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Silence Dogood here. I was going to make stir-fry the other night, which I enjoy, but it’s not our friend Ben’s favorite. So to up the ante, I decided to serve up “Asian fusian” appetizers first: vegetarian sushi, eggrolls, and potstickers.

Thing is, I’d tried cooking potstickers before. I’d put them in a pan with a little oil, sauteed them a bit, and added a splash of veggie broth to make sure they got good and hot clear through without burning. Okay, they didn’t burn. But they did stick to the pan and fall apart when I tried to serve them. Yuck! Not good. Not good at all.

So this time, I decided to try something different. I had to use our little convection/toaster oven to heat the eggrolls anyway, so why not see what it did for the potstickers? I put the potstickers in an ovenproof glass container, then poured a little veggie broth over them, so they were sitting in about 1/4 inch of broth. Then I drizzled tamari over them, followed by a couple of splashes of Frank’s Red Hot Sweet Chili Sauce. I put the eggrolls and the potsticker container in the oven, turned the heat to 275 degrees F. on the convection mode, and hoped for the best.

After about 15 minutes, I flipped the eggrolls so they could crisp on all sides. And about half an hour after I started, I arranged the sushi and condiments (shoyu, wasabi and pickled sushi ginger), eggrolls and condiments (duck sauce and Chinese hot mustard), and potstickers on plates and served them up.

At this point, the broth, tamari and hot sauce had formed a thick, glossy coating on the potstickers. I could not believe how delicious they were! And not using any oil salved my conscience a bit for the Frank’s hot sauce, which has sugar (but, thank God, no high-fructose corn syrup). OFB was ecstatic, and even went so far as to suggest that perhaps we could have stir-fry and Asian appetizers again this week.

Innovation: It works for me. And, apparently, for the creator of potstickers. As the package of Annie Chun’s Organic Shiitake & Vegetable Potstickers says, “According to Chinese legend, potstickers were created by accident when the chef of a Chinese emperor accidentally left a pot of dumplings over the stove for too long, crisping the bottoms of the dumplings. Fortunately, the dumplings were a hit among members of the Chinese Imperial Court and so a new recipe was born.”

               ‘Til next time,

                           Silence

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

