jump to navigation

Breakfast of champions. June 8, 2012

Posted by ourfriendben in chickens, gardening, homesteading, recipes, wit and wisdom.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Silence Dogood here. It’s breakfast time! Now that our garden is starting to give us basil, tomatoes, green onions, and even peppers, and our chickens are laying steadily after their winter break, I can make a homegrown omelette with sauteed veggies for our friend Ben’s breakfast. Try it, you’ll love it!

First, I saute the veggies, using our garden’s bounty plus some local produce. I heat canola or olive oil in a pan, then add diced sweet onion, chopped green onion (scallion), diced red, yellow and/or orange bell pepper, shredded basil, sliced mushrooms, and corn cut fresh off the cob, seasoned with a mix of fresh or dried rosemary, basil, oregano and thyme.

Meanwhile, I crack three eggs into a shallow bowl, add lots of fresh-cracked black pepper and salt (we like RealSalt or the hot seasoned herb salt, Trocomare) and beat them. Trial and error has shown that more than three eggs turn into scrambled omelette. Ditto for adding things like milk, sour cream, cream cheese, and half-and-half. Trust me on this.

Once I’ve whipped the eggs with a fork, I put two of OFB’s favorite multigrain English muffins in our toaster oven, split and buttered, to heat up. Then I set out his favorite orange marmalade and/or hot pepper jelly to put on them.

When the veggies have cooked, I push them to one side and pour the seasoned egg mixture into the frying pan. I let it set on one side, then slice it down the middle and flip the two sides over to brown. (I’ve found this is the easiest way to make a perfect omelette. If you’re uncoordinated like me, forget trying to flip the whole thing.) At this point, I toss shredded cheese (sharp Cheddar, Parmesan, Provolone, Swiss, a mix, your favorite) on top of one half of the omelette, then top it with the other half.

As soon as the cheese melts, it’s time to serve up: The perfect half-moon cheese omelette, a side of sauteed veggies, and toasted English muffins with marmalade or jelly. Yum! This serves one.

Sometimes I’ll make an equally-loved variation, substituting sauteed apples (Granny Smith apples sliced thin and sauteed in butter and brown sugar) for the veggies. OFB loves them both. Or, if I have a leftover boiled or sweet potato, I might dice it and saute it with herbs and spices and serve it up with the omelette and English muffins.

What about me, you might be asking. What do I eat for breakfast while OFB is feasting on his cheese omelette and sides? I don’t think you really want to know.

For years, I never ate any breakfast at all; I’m simply not hungry in the morning. These days, I’m apt to eat a soup made from greens, mushrooms and tofu for breakfast (type “Super Healing Soup” in our search bar at upper right for the recipe). It’s an unconventional breakfast, obviously, but it tastes good and seems to boost my health and well-being. Having it every morning (as opposed to nothing) has even helped me lose weight, as counterintuitive as that sounds, presumably by kick-starting my metabolism. I’m eating my breakfast bowl as I write, and suggest that you try making a batch for lunch or supper if you can’t face soup for breakfast.

In any case, I hope you enjoy OFB’s breakfast omelette and sides!

                      ‘Til next time,

                                   Silence

Comments»

1. amaya73 - June 8, 2012

I like miso soup with seaweed & tofu any time, even for breakfast.

Thanks, Amaya! Glad I’m not the only one!


Leave a Reply

