jump to navigation

The hummingbirds are here! July 14, 2012

Posted by ourfriendben in critters, gardening.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Well, at least one hummingbird is finally here. You may recall our earlier worries about the absence of hummingbirds in the yard this year. We don’t set out nectar feeders, so we never have big flocks of ruby-throated hummingbirds. But we do usually have three or four, beginning when the columbines bloom in spring and continuing on through the end of our rose-of-Sharon’s bloom season.

We have other hummingbird favorites, such as monarda (bee balm), trumpetvine, jewelweed, and cannas. This year, we even added four fuchsias to the deck in hope of luring them in closer. No luck. The extreme heat and drought seemed to be keeping the feisty little birds at bay. (The fuchsias certainly proved popular with our chipmunks, though; they ate every single fuchsia berry.)

Our trumpetvine is in full and spectacular bloom, and I’ve been watching it hopefully every day. And yesterday, I finally saw a hummingbird! Then this morning I saw one at the rose-of-Sharon outside my home office window; they are just now beginning to come into bloom, so they’ll provide sustenance for the voracious hummers for several months.

I don’t know if I’ve now seen two hummingbirds, or if (more likely) it was the same hummingbird; I need to keep my binoculars at the ready so I can look for the famous ruby throat of the male versus the drab green of the female. But in either case, we’re happy to have them back!

Have you had fewer hummingbirds than usual this year?

                ‘Til next time,

                             Silence

Note: A kind reader suggested petunias as the ultimate hummingbird plants. We’ll keep that in mind for next year!

Comments»

1. narf77 - July 15, 2012

We don’t get hummingbirds here in Tasmania Australia. I am sure that if I saw one I would take myself to bed immediately! Apparently they love red flowers so planting on a mono-scale might be a good idea…

Ha! Do you get grass parakeets, Bourke’s parakeets, rosellas, and cockatoos in Tasmania, Fran? If so, forget hummingbirds, you have the most spectacular birds on Earth! I dream of going to Australia to see the great flocks of them in their native habitat. Sigh…

2. narf77 - July 15, 2012

Not here in Tasmania as its cold. We have swift parrots and we have enormous black cockatoos but not the beautiful black and red ones that we had in Western Australia. I guess you don’t notice your own wildlife as its a case of the grass is greener I guess🙂 By the way. I was just reading my rss feed reader this morning (of which you are right up there with 1st read…) and noticed this article and thought that you might like it about what plants hummingbirds like…

http://awaytogarden.com/cardinal-climber-and-its-cousins-annual-vines-that-are-hummingbird-favorites

The vine that they are featuring is AMAZING! If I could get hold of it I would festoon it all over Serendipity Farm and be happy that my job was done lol. Who knows…the display might even attract the odd Hummingbird…who knows…stranger things have happened and if strange things are going to happen, Serendipity Farm is likely to be the epicentre lol😉

3. narf77 - July 15, 2012

Sorry to invade this post but hummingbirds certainly deserve our attention…I know that he isn’t the inspiration that started this blog but the following information about the Cypress vine that I sent you in my last comment was most interesting…

“Thomas Jefferson was the first person to cite this plant in America.[2] He sent seed from Philadelphia to his two daughters at Monticello in 1791, and it was planted in pots and perhaps intended as a green house plant due to its “abhorrence of cold.”[3]This attractive member of the morning glory family, native to tropical America, and noted in Italy in the 1500s, was known among 18th century Virginia gardeners. Philadelphia nurseryman Bernard McMahon offered seed for sale in 1804, calling it “Wing’d leaved Ipomoea.”

4. fitness - July 27, 2012

Very good blog you have here but I was wondering if you knew of any community forums that cover the same topics talked about in this article?
I’d really love to be a part of group where I can get responses from other knowledgeable individuals that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Kudos!


Leave a Reply

