jump to navigation

Julia Child: Larger Than Life. August 24, 2012

Posted by ourfriendben in wit and wisdom.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Silence Dogood here. I just got my copy of Bon Appetit! The Delicious Life of Julia Child, a children’s book by Jessie Hartland (Schwartz & Wade Books, New York, 2012). I’d read such great reviews of the book that I, a diehard Julia fan, simply had to have it. Unlike so many things in life, Bon Appetit! lived up to its reviews. I adored it. It made me laugh. It made me cry. I’m so happy to add it to my Julia book collection.

If you want to introduce your kids to the wonderful world of Julia Child, this is the place to start (possibly followed by the Dan Aykroyd parody on “Saturday Night Live”). If you want to revisit Julia with fresh eyes, this is the place to start. Ms. Hartland covers so much ground in such a condensed format that children and adults alike will feel like they really know Julia after they’ve finished the book! Then anyone who wants to dig deeper can read Julia’s and Alex Prud’homme’s memoir, My Life in France, and of course watch the film “Julie and Julia.” 

But even if, like me, you’ve read pretty much everything by and about Julia and seen all of her shows, Bon Appetit! is still worth reading, worth collecting. It’s a book you’ll want to revisit whenever you need cheering up. It will remind you, as Julia famously said, that life itself is the ultimate binge. Kudos, Jessie Hartland!

               ‘Til next time,

                         Silence

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

