jump to navigation

PETA plus and minus. September 17, 2012

Posted by ourfriendben in pets, wit and wisdom.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Silence Dogood here. I noticed one of many eccentric touches at this month’s 17th annual Bowers Chile Pepper Food Festival: a guy manning one of the booths in a tee-shirt that said “PETA: People Eating Tasty Animals.” 

Needless to say, members of the actual organization PETA, People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals, would be highly unlikely to eat them; most are vegans or vegetarians. But I have to say, I got a kick out of that shirt.

I’m also a lifelong vegetarian/vegan and for the same reason: We don’t have to eat animals, so why should we?  But at the same time, I despise the humorless approach of PETA, taking itself so, so seriously. Being so intolerant of everyone else. And worst of all, condoning and actually perpetrating vandalism, something I despise above all else. This reduces PETA to the level of hackers, of WikiLeaks; it cheapens their message and enrages rather than enlists potential supporters. Dumping cans of red paint on people who happen to be wearing fur coats is not likely to make them into animal lovers, idiots! Jesus.  Get a brain, how about it?!!

But PETA finally did something right: It placed a full-page ad in The Wall Street Journal featuring Uggie, the dog star of the Academy Award-winning film “The Actor,” reminding readers that Uggie was adopted from an animal shelter and that people should go to their local shelters to adopt pets rather than buying them from stores and breeders. It’s the first unoffensive PETA ad I’ve ever seen.

PETA, please learn from this: Start appealing to people’s emotions and sense and stop the vandalism that makes you an object of hate, ridicule, and marginalization. Stop tossing paint. People will only respect you and take you seriously if they think you respect them.  Once you make it clear that you do, perhaps they’ll finally be willing to hear your message.

Comments»

1. William - September 17, 2012

I am shocked at the ad. I recall some rant about how wrong it was to have pets.

As a meat and vegetable eater, I have always believed to each his own. When vegetarians visit, we try to accomodate them. As for me, I do what my dental design was made for and just like other animals, I’ll enjoy a bit of flesh.

I was shocked too, William. Like you, I’d heard how the supposedly animal-loving PETA people actually wanted to outlaw pets and farm animals, in effect making them all extinct. Talk about tough love! Yikes. And yes, I fully respect the right of my fellow omnivores to exercise their choice of foods. Who the hell am I to judge?! Many a better and greater person than me (including my hero and blog mentor, the great Benjamin Franklin) enjoyed meat now and again, though I will note than when young and idealistic, Ben was also a vegetarian, as impossible as that must have been in the Colonies.

2. narf77 - September 19, 2012

“If God didn’t want us to eat meat…why did he make it so tasty?”… the son and heirs comment to me when I offered him a bowl of salad. I take it personally whenever rabid vegans go on the howl. It makes the rest of us do it a little tougher every time we meet a confirmed dyed in the wool meat eater who latches onto Peta and gives us a good verbal kicking. My creed is Judge not lest thou be judged! I won’t be swatting anyone over the head any day soon with an anti-meat sign and I don’t expect to be howled out of my kitchen by rabid meat eating vego haters! Live and share and all of that bampf.

So true, Fran! PETA’s self-righteousness makes it harder on all of us who are trying to convey the message in a compassionate rather than combative way. If we can’t show respect for each other, we should shut the hell up. And of course I love your son’s comment! Even after all these years, I can still recall the unique satisfaction of chewing meat. It’s why I know humans were born to be omnivores. We’re just fortunate enough to have more compassionate options.

narf77 - September 20, 2012

I also agree…I choose not to eat meat and should be allowed to make my choice without being lambasted from the sidelines by radical meat eaters and veggo’s…It’s hard enough to know what to eat these days because everything is bad for you (at least this week it is! ;)) let alone having someone else dictate what is right for your own body. Go tell someone who cares and let us do our thang! I think we are on a roll here Silence! I think we form a quarum of 2!😉

Ha, all two of us, Fran! Oh dear. And yes, it seems that everything IS bad for you; it’s a wonder any of us are still alive. Just this morning, I saw an article that said there were dangerously high levels of arsenic in rice. Rice! Arsenic! Yowie kazowie.


Leave a Reply

