jump to navigation

Candy vitamins. October 10, 2012

Posted by ourfriendben in wit and wisdom.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Silence Dogood here. I was recently stunned to see an ad for my local CVS offering a sale on Centrum gummy vitamins for adults. Gummy vitamins? For adults?! What the bleep!

Then I started thinking about this. Most of the vitamins I take are the size of horse pills. They are very hard to swallow. As a result, I find that I often don’t take them. Maybe those gummy vitamins weren’t such a bad idea. Better a gummy vitamin than no vitamin at all. I decided to check them out next time I was in CVS.

Was I in for a shock yesterday when I looked for them in the CVS vitamin aisle! Yes, I found them. But I also found dozens of other adult gummy vitamins, both multivitamins and individual vitamins and minerals. You could buy gummy vitamin D3, CoQ10, vitamin C, omega-3, calcium, you name it. The gummies came in all shapes, sizes, and colors, as well as mixed bright colors and flavors.

There were also chewable vitamins (including a special senior formula), which were cherry-pink and looked like a cross between Necco Wafers and SweeTarts. And Centrum also had adult vitamins that looked like round M&Ms (I wondered if they were chocolate-filled). I thought maybe I’d wandered into the candy aisle by mistake. 

Mind you, I think whoever came up with this idea was a genius. Who wouldn’t want to start the day with an assortment of colorful, flavorful candies rather than trying to choke down a handful of gargantuan pills? But I did wonder about their effectiveness. How well did their potency hold up, and how well did they deliver the vitamins to the body?

Sadly, Google turned up no answers for me this time. I will speculate that because they dissolve in the mouth, they should deliver the vitamins to the system much more quickly and completely than pills. Whether this is a good thing or a bad thing I don’t know.

As for me, I ended up passing up the gummies in favor of the chewables (they were on a buy one, get one sale). But what I’m really looking forward to is the day they come out with vitamin Lifesavers…

               ‘Til next time,

                           Silence

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

