jump to navigation

Cold weather, hot lunch. March 21, 2013

Posted by ourfriendben in recipes.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Silence Dogood here. It’s still in the 30s here, and is, according to the weather forecasters, going to remain in the 30s into mid-April. I don’t know about you, but I really hate the cold. I hate sitting in my 55-degree house (and mind you, paying almost $800 a month for fuel oil to keep the house at 55 degrees). I hate the icy-cold water when I turn on a tap. I hate having to go outside. I’d give anything to be warm.

This goes for food as well. I don’t eat breakfast, so by lunchtime I’m starving, but even then, I can’t eat more than a few mouthfuls. But I want them to be hot and succulent, to make every forkful count. What to do?

I’ve found that the best solution is leftovers. If you’re a soup-lover, that would be the easy answer, but I’m not. However, a little reheated pasta (mac’n’cheese, lasagna, spaghetti, or the like) or refried beans, or curry and rice, or some fried rice or a reconstructed falafel sandwich would be warm and comforting. Making sure you make plenty of whatever you favor for supper, so you have leftovers to heat up for lunch, is an excellent idea to carry you through the cold days. What are your favorites?

‘Til next time,

Silence

Comments»

1. Lea - March 21, 2013

I like to make big batches of thick, hearty soup so there are extra portions to put in the freezer. While it is re-heating, I make cornbread. That’s warming comfort food for me.
If I had Spring weather here in the south, I would try to send some north to you, but we are still cold. Winter storm headed our way this week-end.
Lea
Lea’s menagerie

Hey Lea, like you, I love fresh, hot cornbread, especially with black bean soup, lentil stew, and chili. Yum!!! Ditto for grits in any form, especially fried grits. (Better even than cheese grits, and that’s saying something.) I’m from Nashville; what part of the South are you from?


Leave a Reply

