jump to navigation

Who’s your favorite fantasy character? March 29, 2013

Posted by ourfriendben in wit and wisdom.
Tags: ,
trackback

We’re not talking about vampires or zombies (sorry, Shaun of the Dead) or superheroes here (despite Silence Dogood’s crushes on Robert Downey Jr. and Hugh Jackman); not even many wizards. Since this is our blog, we get to pick the contestants. We’re limiting our choices to film representations. And here they are. Please vote for your favorite(s):

* Pippin (Peregrine Took), Lord of the Rings
* Samwise Gamgee, Lord of the Rings
* Gimli, Lord of the Rings
* Boromir, Lord of the Rings
* Galadriel, Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit
* Arwen Evenstar, Lord of the Rings
* Saruman, Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit
* Gollum, Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit
* Bilbo Baggins, Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit
* Thorin Oakenshield, The Hobbit
* Darth Vader, Star Wars
* Han Solo, Star Wars
* Yoda, Star Wars
* Mr. Spock, Star Trek
* Data, Star Trek: The Next Generation
* Merlin
* Jeff Goldblum, Independence Day, The Fly, Jurassic Park
* Alan Rickman, Harry Potter films as Snape, Galaxy Quest
* Katniss Everdeen, The Hunger Games
* Dale Hawthorne, The Hunger Games
* Cinna, The Hunger Games
* Haymitch Abernathy, The Hunger Games
* Cato, The Hunger Games
* Rue, The Hunger Games
* Effie Trinket, The Hunger Games
* President Coriolanus Snow, The Hunger Games

This list is limited, we know. But that’s because most of our favorite fantasy novels have never been made into films. If any film makers paid attention to us, we’d see The Snow Queen, Golden Witchbreed, A Song for Arbonne, Grass, and many another great fantasy novel brought to screen life. Plus the fun fantasies like the Vlad Taltos novels. What’s wrong with those producers and directors and screenwriters?! Sheesh.

We left out some of our favorite movies, like “The Running Man” and “Gattaca,” or even our hero, Sherlock Holmes, because they seemed (scarily, we admit) too close to home, not sufficiently fantastical. And others because, though they were certainly fantastical, they bored us. (“The Matrix,” anyone?)

But that’s just us. Please feel free to vote for those who are or aren’t on the list, we’d be happy to hear who your favorites are. We’re fond of all those we’ve listed so we don’t dare take sides. Let’s hear who you’d vote for!

Comments»

1. Lea - March 29, 2013

Bilbo Baggins!
Have a blessed week-end!
Lea
Lea’s Menagerie

Bilbo’s been a favorite of mine since sixth grade, Lea. I hope you and yours have a blessed Easter as well!

2. sjones71 - March 29, 2013

I have a soft spot for Samwise the gardener.

Oh my! Would love a Vlad Taltos movie. Time to give those books a re-read.

I didn’t appreciate Sam in the books, but very much did in the films, especially given the actor’s very sensitive insights into the story in the additional material. Now Sam’s one of my favorites! And yes, why hasn’t anyone jumped on the Taltos franchise? It would make such a great movie series!

3. Daphne - March 29, 2013

I guess I would have to go with Sam. But I do find it interesting that you put Jeff Goldblum on as he is the apple among the oranges. All the others are characters and he is an actor. I do love him as an actor. But I don’t really consider him a fantasy character.

And I so love Sherri Tepper too. Though my favorites are Raising the Stones and After Long Silence. I should say loved her. Past tense. I quit reading her when she got too didactic about feminism.

Well, Jeff Goldblum and Alan Rickman have acted such different and powerful characters that I thought I’d just amalgamate them, Daphne, though I must say, JG is one of my favorite actors, and AR is perhaps my all-time favorite. (I once even had an action figure of Jeff Goldblum, and it’s probably still around here somewhere.) As for Sheri Tepper, I entirely agree with you. When I read her original YA trilogy, I was beguiled by it, but also realized that perhaps one of her children or nephews had been molested and she was trying to help him recover through her writing. Her other early novels were imaginative and fascinating, but then her voice became too strident and bitter for me as well.

4. William - March 30, 2013

I would go with Gollum. He is the most complex of characters even though not my favorite. This is an individual with an addiction driving him, and he’s in conflict. As you discover, he was a flawed being from the beginning and finds peace in an instant.

I briefly looked for Vlad. That is another fun character.

Gollum’s a good choice, William! And yes, Vlad is a wonderful character, both witty and resourceful and a powerful lesson at the same time, since the books portray humans as a subservient race, discriminated against, and that’s not something we’re used to!


Leave a Reply

