jump to navigation

Weird robins. June 20, 2013

Posted by ourfriendben in critters, homesteading.
Tags: ,
trackback

Silence Dogood here. Hawk’s Haven, the property our friend Ben and I share in the precise middle of nowhere, PA, is full of trees. We have dozens of trees. So why are our robins all nesting on our house?!

The robins nest on (or next to) our air conditioners. They nest on the bends in our downspouts. They even nest on a grapevine wreath on our front wall.

If I were a robin, I’d try to hide my nest in a big, leafy tree. I wouldn’t be exposing my nest and endangering my offspring by building a nest on somebody’s house. And then flying away every time anybody and/or their dog leaves said house, exposing eggs or nestlings to the cold. Yowie kazowie.

Anybody know why this happens?

‘Til next time,

Silence

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

