jump to navigation

Potato panic. September 22, 2013

Posted by ourfriendben in recipes, wit and wisdom.
Tags: ,
trackback

Silence Dogood here. Yesterday, for the first time I can remember, I had no potatoes in the house. No baking potatoes, no sweet potatoes to roast with olive oil and herbs or bake into caramelized deliciousness, no Yukon Gold potatoes to boil, then mash with cream, butter, salt and pepper into the best mashed potatoes on earth, no new red-skinned potatoes to roast with sweet onions, mushrooms, and asparagus into the best meal ever.

Yow! How could I have run out of potatoes?!! Our friend Ben and I love potatoes, and especially now, when cooler weather has signalled the arrival of fall, our favorite season. I rely on potatoes to fill in gaps in our supper menus. Potatoes aren’t just delicious, filling, and easy, they’re healthy, vitamin-filled additions to any meal. Much as we love pasta and white rice, potatoes have them beat bigtime for nutrients and health benefits.

To think, we went to the grocery just yesterday and I forgot about the potatoes! We also visited our local farmers’ market, and I got some lettuce but was too late to get watercress, failed to get arugula, and then forgot to get mixed lettuces when we stopped by the local Giant. Shame on me!

I guess poor OFB and I will be heading out today to get salad greens and a variety of potatoes. At least it’s a beautiful day!

‘Til next time,

Silence

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

