jump to navigation

Egg salad sandwiches hit the spot. October 15, 2013

Posted by ourfriendben in recipes.
Tags: ,
trackback

Silence Dogood here. If you’re like me, you tend to think of egg salad as summer picnic fare, something you make maybe twice a year. But everything I thought I knew about egg salad changed a couple of weeks ago when I went to a local sandwich shop.

We’re talking early October, but this shop had homemade egg salad on the menu. It looked so good, a simple mix of shredded hardboiled eggs and mayo, that I ordered an egg salad sandwich with mayo, mustard, lettuce, tomato and onion in a hot ciabatta roll.

Yum! What an inspired combination. The hot, crusty roll leant just the right heartiness to the luscious fillings, all of which balanced each other perfectly. Suddenly, summer’s salad had become autumn’s sandwich.

The question was, could I do this at home? Absolutely, and it was so easy. I made our friend Ben and myself a simple lunch of egg salad sandwiches with sweet potato chips and pickles this past weekend. I warmed split sections of baguette, then spread them with mayo (we like Vegenaise) and a robust mustard.

I piled on Romaine, radicchio, and shredded carrots and radishes from a bag of salad mix, added a fat slice of orange tomato, topped that with a slice of sweet onion, and then spread a thick layer of egg salad over the mustard on the other half of the baguette section. Then I slapped the halves together and served the sandwiches, chips, and pickles with fresh-pressed cider from a local orchard.

Yummmmm!!! So easy, so good, so satisfying. While those vine-ripened tomatoes are still available, I suggest that you give this a try. Picture it with a cup of hot cream of tomato soup!

‘Til next time,

Silence

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

