jump to navigation

Whatever happened to Blotanical? November 1, 2013

Posted by ourfriendben in gardening, wit and wisdom.
Tags: ,
trackback

Blotanical, a compendium of garden blogs, was a big reason why our friend Ben, Silence Dogood, and Richard Saunders were able to launch our blog, Poor Richard’s Almanac. It gave us an audience of fellow gardening enthusiasts from all over the world, and gave us access to lots of wonderful gardening blogs. From South Africa to Australia, from Canada to California, we were suddenly seeing and connecting with bloggers we’d never have heard of without Blotanical.

We were grateful, but we were busy. So we didn’t check into the site as often as we might have. We did, however, check in often enough to see that its founder appeared to have abandoned it several years ago, promising a monstrous makeover, then simply freezing the site. Ever since, we’ve checked in every six months or so, and have found no new updates on this fantastic transformation. Then today, we checked in once again and were unable to get on to the site.

Is Blotanical dead? Does anyone know? What a shame. It was a wonderful way to connect garden bloggers.

Comments»

1. Rachel - November 1, 2013

Blotanical was a wonderful place where gardeners could meet. I found your blog there in 2009 and have been enjoying it ever since. I must admit, Blotanical became a little overwhelming for me when the rating system was enabled and I stopped visiting as frequently. Now the link is dead, but there is still hope. See: http://blotanical.com/blog/ for updates.

Thanks so much, Rachel! I also found the ratings system unwieldy and way too time-consuming. But I’ll definitely check the blog and hope for the best!

2. Diana Studer - November 2, 2013

One of your South African Blotanical friends checking in ;~)
We are still waiting hopefully, 5 of us are testing the new beta. More patience and goodwill is needed. I’ve put up ‘Blotanical News’ on the sidebars of my 2 blogs.

Oh, thank you, Diana! So good to hear from you. And thanks to you and the other four stalwarts for beta-testing and keeping the hope of revival alive. I’m certainly willing to wait, and goodwill is never lacking over this way (easy for me to say, I know, since I’m not the one trying to run the site, just someone who appreciated it).

Diana Studer - November 28, 2014

PS Blotanical old and new is now officially mothballed.
I haz a SAD.

Sob! I loved Blotanical, it was such a convenient way to “meet” gardening enthusiasts from around the world. You never knew what you would find, from people who did rooftop food gardening to others who specialized in agaves. And once you’d found blogs that interested you, it was so easy to keep up with them! Thanks so much, Diana, for sending us the (sad) news. At least now we can lay that hope to rest.

3. Cinj - November 5, 2013

Oh, I haven’t checked blotanical in a couple of years. I found Stuart on facebook, should I ask him? Sad, I “met” a lot of great people there, sadly I don’t blog hop like I used to, after I joined facebook I kind of fell out of the habit. I don’t even write too many blog posts these day. I just jumped over to blogger because someone in my homesteading groups was asking about buying a 1/4 pig and I thought I had written a post about it. (It was 1/2 cow that I had written about.) Hope all is well with you!

Hi Cinj! Great to hear from you! I know, Facebook and Twitter and Instagram and the like have sort of moved people beyond blogging. But I do miss my Blotanical friends and seeing what they’re up to!

4. Jay - May 6, 2014

I am very sad about Blotanical. It was a great way for me to meet bloggers from all over the world. I was very sad to see it go!

Me, too, Jay!!!


Leave a Reply

