jump to navigation

Can’t get that ring off? Try this. February 23, 2014

Posted by ourfriendben in wit and wisdom.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Silence Dogood here. We’ve all done it: forced a ring we really wanted to wear onto our finger. And then, because it was hot and our fingers swelled or we were working and our fingers swelled or we’d gained a little weight or for whatever reason, when it came time to take the ring off, it either wouldn’t budge or wouldn’t go over the knuckle.

If this has happened to you, you know that if you just keep pushing and struggling to get the ring off, your finger will swell even more. Not to mention, it hurts.

I have generally managed to get stuck rings off by running cold water over my hand to reduce swelling, then lathering up with soap to help the ring slide off. I’ve also had success by slathering on hand lotion and slipping the ring off over the lotion.

But sometimes, it seems like nothing will get a ring off. (How on earth, we wonder in retrospect, did we ever get it on to begin with?!) This happened to me last summer, when I managed to get a favorite ring on, then couldn’t get it off no matter what I tried. Weeks went by. I was beginning to think I’d have to have a jeweler cut it off, and believe me, I wasn’t looking forward to that.

Fortunately, as it happened, before I resorted to this, I happened into a shop that sold both rocks and fossils and jewelry. I’d gone up to the counter with a few rocks I couldn’t resist (alas, passing up the $550 fossilzed turtle shell for some reason), when I had what a friend’s mother pricelessly referred to as “a rush of brains to the head.”

“Excuse me,” I said to the proprietor, “but do you know how to get stuck rings off?” I held out my hand to indicate the ring in question.

“Let me show you a little trade secret,” he replied. “It works every time.” Then, grabbing a bottle of Windex from under the counter, he sprayed my finger. Because the ring had been stuck on for so long, it took two sprays, but then, poof! The ring flew off painlessly. I was so relieved!

I’ve tried this at home when another ring got stuck and wouldn’t come off with my usual methods, and sure enough, one spray did the trick. I’m so grateful to know that a simple, inexpensive household product can work such a seeming miracle, saving both the ring and your sore finger. Try it and see for yourself!

‘Til next time,

Silence

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

