jump to navigation

Should you choose gummy vitamins? August 20, 2014

Posted by ourfriendben in wit and wisdom.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Silence Dogood here. I try to eat a healthy, balanced diet, but I’ve also always tried to supplement with vitamins, since, as a vegetarian, I know I need to add more iron, B12 and omega-3s, among others, than most omnivores. I used to swallow an amazing assortment of horse-pill-sized vitamins every morning and night.

But as time went on, I found it harder and harder to swallow big pills. And I found that, without even realizing it, I’d gradually stopped taking my vitamins. Just looking at one of them made my throat close up. What to do?

Fortunately, thanks to children’s vitamins, an answer seemed to be on the horizon: candy. There are now adult gummy vitamins, M&M-style vitamins, NECCO wafer-style vitamins. You can simply eat these sweet-treat vitamins rather than having to swallow them. You can choose multivitamins, individual vitamins, or an assortment.

But do they really work? An interview with a nutritional scientist on Yahoo News this morning said yes, that they were as effective as the horse pills (or any vitamin pills and capsules). And that their sweetness wasn’t an issue, since two gummy vites had just 15 calories and 2-3 grams of sugar (compared to 40 for a 12-ounce soda). Great news for those of us who’d worried about the gummy vites rotting our teeth.

But I had one more question. As a vegetarian, I didn’t want to eat gummy vites with gelatin. Were there any vegetarian gummy vites? My local health-food store came to the rescue. Nordic Naturals Nordic Berries were made with pectin (a fruit-based thickener), not gelatin.

So now I take the Nordic multivitamin gummy vites along with wafer-like vitamin C and B12. Do I want to eat candylike vitamins, since I’d never even think of eating candy? Certainly not. Would I rather eat candylike vitamins than not take vitamins at all? You betcha. Pass the bottle, please.

‘Til next time,

Silence

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

