jump to navigation

GAAAHHHH!!! Bug up skirt!!!! June 10, 2008

Posted by ourfriendben in critters, gardening, pets, wit and wisdom.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Silence Dogood here. Well, sort of here. As faithful readers know, I like wearing skirts. Preferably long, loose, comfortable skirts. I wear them to garden. I wear them to hike. I wear them on the beach. I find skirts comfortable, unconfining, modest, and flattering. Keep your damned blue jeans, say I, and give me a rough-and-tumble denim skirt or a swirly broomstick skirt or an elegant, silky black evening skirt any day (or night).

So yes, I love skirts. But I hate bugs. (See my earlier post on stink bugs for more on this.) Mind you, I have absolutely nothing against bugs that live peacefully outside and leave me alone. But bugs in the house, bugs that dive-bomb me, and, worse still, bugs that get on me are another matter.

We’re organic gardeners here at Hawk’s Haven. We not only don’t spray chemicals, we don’t spray, period. We’re lucky enough to have plenty of beneficial insects, birds, bats, toads, and other bug-eaters on-premises to help us keep pest populations under control without any assistance from us. We do get ladybugs and lacewings for the greenhouse every once in awhile, but that’s about as far as it goes. You’d think the wretched bugs would be grateful. But ooohhh, nooooo!

I was just sitting in our home office seconds ago, reading gardening blogs and fantasizing about adding a few plants to our deck garden, when I rested my hand on my thigh. And felt an odd bump under the fabric of my skirt. Hmmmm, my thighs might not qualify me for the Miss America swimsuit competition, but still, I wouldn’t have said they were bumpy….

GAHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!! The reality belatedly dawns. Screaming and shrieking, I leap up from the computer chair, enthusiastically hauling my skirt up to my chin, much to the astonishment and amusement of our friend Ben.

Sure enough, there is a bug on my leg. Mercifully, it is not that most-feared bug—a tick—but instead is a harmless and in fact beneficial hover fly, one of those little flies that disguises itself as a bee and actually goes after bad bugs in the garden. With a huge sigh of relief, I attempt to capture the little guy so I can release him outside when CRASH!!! FLUMP!!! SMASH!!! Suddenly, my beautiful office houseplants begin falling to the floor in a wave of water (I’d of course just watered them all an hour ago), wet soil, broken leaves, and snapped-off stems.

GAAAHHHHHHH!!! LINUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! GET DOOOWNNNNNNNNNN!!!!!

Sure enough, my screams and flailing on discovering the bug have terrified my huge and beautiful but not-too-bright Maine coon-like cat, Linus, who has leapt up from the sunny windowsill where he was dozing and made a beeline for the door, leaving a path of destruction in his wake. Now the carpet is covered with mud, water, and assorted plant parts. The tops of the filing cabinets are awash. Linus is in seclusion (just as well). The poor hoverfly has departed for parts unknown. Our friend Ben is risking imminent death while trying not to fall on the floor laughing. And my last nerve has just been utterly shredded.

Bugs! Cats! GAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!   

         

Comments»

1. wrjones - June 10, 2008

Good story. You are rare if you are wearing skirts. As a teenager I was driving down a two lane country highway when a bee went up my pant leg. I was afraid to touch him as he went further and further up the leg until he was right on my privates. Afraid he might sting which I knew would cause me to crash, I let the car slow down very gradually so I wouldn’t have to move my leg to step on the brake. There was a long line of cars behind me by the time the car rolled to a stop. I slowly eased out of the car and dropped my pants so the bee could escape. I don’t know if the people in the other cars could tell what was going on but they sure were enjoying a good laugh.

Yeah, well. I refrained from mentioning my own most humiliating bug-up-leg story, but now I guess I have to ‘fess up: I was visiting my college roommate and her family in a very upper-crusty Atlanta neighborhood. I consider myself comparatively modest now, but then I was positively Victorian. I was actually wearing jeans at the time, standing in my friend’s driveway chatting with her, when I felt something crawling up my leg. You never saw anybody peel their pants off so fast! It turned out, to my horror, to be a bumblebee, but thank God it just buzzed off rather than stinging me. The neighbors are probably still talking about it. Nothing like a bug to bring out the exhibitionist in all of us!

2. Daphne Gould - June 10, 2008

LOL That is so funny. I wear skirts in the garden too, though I tend to hike in pants. When I was young I hiked in skirts too, but have since become more fearful of mosquitoes (westnile, EEE).

EEE is right, Daphne! As if we didn’t have enough to worry about!

3. deb - June 10, 2008

Way too funny. I also wear skirts in the garden. So far no bug events.

That’s good news, Deb! I was brought up to do a “tick check” every time I came in from playing in the yard, and I try to remember, but sometimes I just get lazy. Guess this was one of those times! Poor Linus.

4. Curmudgeon - June 10, 2008

I’m a big fan of skirts, but here in troll land we garden in rain gear–which only comes with pants. I turn into a screaming banshee AND whirling dervish when a creepy crawly lands on me. WN tries to gently capture the thing and take it outside where she sets it free with kind words of encouragement. Me, I just create a circle of havoc and destruction until the thing has been dispatched into its next life. I’ve been working on distinguishing “good” bugs from “bad” bugs. Good bugs get to live while I scream at WN to “GET IT OUT OF HERE!” Bad bugs have a close encounter with my shoe. I too had a pants-dropping experience. I was stung by a WASP on the derriere while in a very public place. I wasn’t sure if it was under my long flowing blouse or in my pants so I started ripping off clothes. Lucky for me nobody thought this was too odd. I was just starting grad school and streaking students were not uncommon on campus.

Streaking! Oh good lord! And how horrid that it actually stung you.

5. Dee/reddirtramblings - June 10, 2008

Oh, I hate it when that happens. Bug up the skirt is bad. My friend had an assassin bug up her dress once, and it bit. Glad it wasn’t the biting stinging kind.~~Dee

Ack!!! Assassin bugs!!! Mercy on us. I’m starting to rethink my plans to ever set foot outside again…

6. ceecee - June 10, 2008

My goodness I love a good belly laugh, midday. Sets things right for the evening to come!! Thank you for the wonderful visual!
Did Ben at least help clean up the water? Even someone dying of laughter can sop up water with a towel.
OBTW, sorry you had a bug up your skirt. Glad it wasn’t a tick, cuz, eeewwww!

Gack, ticks. My nemesis. When I was a child, I started crying when I was holding my beloved cocker-springer mix in the back of the car on a trip and I saw a tick crawling over his back towards me. I knew I couldn’t let go of him. Or else. But I also saw a horror movie in progress, and I was clearly the impending victim. My crying finally aggravated my father enough to pull the car over and get rid of the tick, but I’ve been terrified of them ever since. As for Ben… grrrrrr. But after a certain amount of, shall we say, encouragement, the vacuum cleaner and some paper towels were produced. Poor Linus, though! He still looks like he doesn’t know if he’s coming or going.

7. Melanie - June 11, 2008

I am quickly converting to a skirt lover. Yesterday I wore a silky flowy wrap around skirt that was delightful. It was 97 but every time the silky fabric swished around my legs it was like having an airconditioner under the skirt! Of course last year they were for sale everywhere and this year I can’t find any more.

Bug up the skirt would flip me out. The worst for me was when I was lying in bed and felt a bug crawl across my body. It was a huge ant and I just went nuts stripping off the sheets and everything.

Oh, dear, Melanie! But trust me, it could have been worse. Once our cat Jessie hopped up on the bed to show me a mouse she’d just caught, but the effort of getting up there was too much and she dropped the mouse, which ran across my bare arm! Talk about a rude awakening! I wish uninvited critters would just learn to stay outside!!!


Leave a comment